In The Kitchen, Recipes

Homemade Waffle Cones

As much as I adore krumkake and certain krumkake recipes do yield a cookie sturdy enough to be used as an ice cream cone, my favorite recipe is one that is much too delicate for that purpose and honestly the ones I have tried that can be used as ice cream cones I have not cared for too much and I find them to still be a bit too delicate. With that thought in mind, I decided to look for an actual waffle cone recipe.

The first page of google search results yielded a handful of recipes with low ratings and not great reviews… except for one. I decided to give that one a try. 

I did make a little change to the ingredients. The recipe calls for whole (dairy) milk, which I do not keep on hand. I buy it if I know I will be needing it for something where my preference of unsweetened almond milk won’t work for one reason or another but generally speaking it isn’t something you will find in my fridge. I had measured out two tablespoons of the almond milk into the bowl when I remembered I have heavy cream. I decided to use that for the third tablespoon, figuring that it would perhaps even things out a bit and make it a touch more as if I had used the whole milk called for.

I used my krumkake iron to bake them off as well, when the recipe instructs making them on a griddle or in a skillet. I figured the krumkake iron would be much easier – the batter gets pressed to an even thickness when the lid is shut so no worrying about trying to spread the batter evenly, and because both sides of the iron heat up, the cook time per cone was much shorter. With the heat setting at 3, I let them go a while longer after the “ready” light came on before checking them to see if they were cooked enough. (I find it is best to leave the heat lower and just let cookies bake longer in the iron to reach the desired doneness than to turn the heat up higher and keep a shorter cook time – too easy to get burnt cookies that way!) The average cook time on them till they were done was about two and a half minutes, but I let some go to three minutes or slightly beyond to get a little darker and more crisp for the sake of experimenting a bit. The two and a half minute mark seemed ideal for my preferences, though.

They did sometimes want to cling to the iron a bit but were easy to wiggle loose with a spatula, then I rolled them around my krumkake form to shape them into cones. 

The final result is some very pretty and quite tasty homemade waffle cones. 

Now if I actually had some ice cream to put into them… 😅 But they are good enough to eat on their own as “cookies”. 

I have been wanting to make some homemade ice cream, it has been a long time since I have done that; probably going on two years or so now. Maybe I can squeeze the ingredients into my budget when I get groceries this week, and then I can have some yummy homemade ice cream in homemade waffle cones! 

If you’d like to try the waffle cone recipe I found, it is available on Gemma’s Bigger Bolder Baking: just click here to see her post with the recipe. 

Totally unrelated side note: My mom’s dog is named Gemma. 😜 

Until next time. xoxo

1 thought on “Homemade Waffle Cones”

Leave a Reply

