Melting Pot

Early Mornings

The dogs woke me up shortly after 5 this morning. I planned to go back to bed but Pricess started nosing at something on the floor. I knew what it was, so I had to get up and deal with it. 

You see, the people who lived here before me were complete slobs. It was disgusting. I still have not managed to get the smell to go away completely, despite multiple scrubbings and lots of Febreze. Well as often is the case in a filty building… there are roaches. Knock on wood thus far they do not seem to be a big problem, but they easily can be so I am doing my best to make it as undesirable a place for them here as possible. It started with spotting droppings on the back edge of the tub. Then a couple days later, a roach was spotted in my closet. The next morning another was in the bathroom. Both of them were destroyed and flushed down the toilet for absolute certainty of their demise. I then sprinkled a healthy dose of DE around the perimeter of every room and the hall. A couple days passed with no more sightings, till this morning. Yes, my friends, Princess was going after a roach this morning. When I got to it it seemed to be nearly dead but still moving. I am not sure if Princess killed it or the DE, probably a bit of both. Regardless, it also went to a watery grave as the two before it did. I’ve got all the food in Tupperware containers my aunt gave me not long ago. I have never been happier for Tupperware than I am right now. 

Once that was dealt with, there was no way I was getting back to bed. I had wanted to get up early to go to WalMart before it got crazy anyway so I took the dogs out, had a quick breakfast, then off I went. I got to the store just before 6, quickly got the few things I needed (none of which was food, other than a bag of sugar for my sweet tea addiction) and was back home arpund 6:30. I saw only two other customers the whole time I was in the store, everyone else I encountered was an employee. I’d call that a win. 

Though as I have thought about it since, perhaps not. Not that I even have time for a special friend anyway, with everything else I have going on to deal with. And honestly I am not sure right now I want a special friend all that much anyway. But there definitely is part of me that does. Old habits die hard I guess.  Making it a point to go out when as few people are at the store as possible kind of works against the chances of meeting someone while out. 

Then again, going out when it is crowded really, really makes me nuts and sucks the life out of me. I’ll just have to continue to focus on myself and what I need to do, and if I am supposed to meet somebody special while grocery shopping, then he is going to be like me and at the store at some ridiculous hour of the day to avoid the crowds, too. “Everything happens the way it’s supposed to” is what people like to say. I’m not sure I believe that but it sounds alright. 

I have mostly just relaxed since getting back from the store. Being able to just sit and do whatever I want is a luxury I will not be able to enjoy much longer, so I figure I need to make the most of it while I can. 

And on that note I am off to watch a tv program I have saved on the computer while I wait for a load of clothes to finish up in the washer. 

Until next time. xoxo 

One thought on “Early Mornings

  1. Well, bless your heart. I hate roaches. Yuck! I compliment you on the use of DE. We keep a bag of it on hand at all time. It’s great for killing spiders and centipedes too. Tupperware and plastic sealed containers are a blessing to protect everything.
    There’s also herbs that will deter insects; cinnamon, catnip, thyme, bay leaves, cloves, fennel, garlic, lavender, peppermint, rosemary, spearmint, and tansy. (<– I cut and pasted that list for you 😉 ) If it's of interest, you can research them further to see about how to use them… until you can get an exterminator to make the house more pest free.
    When there's not many folks out, shopping is so much more enjoyable. I agree I call that a win.
    I hope you have a wonderful week of wins!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

