Melting Pot

Rascal Flatts Back To Us – First Impressions

I got my copy of the latest Rascal Flatts album, Back To Us, today. I had pre-ordered the deluxe version which is an Amazon exclusive to get the bonus tracks that are not included on the standard version.

To start off I want to say this: I am in no way a music critic. I do not know a lot about the technical aspects of music. I am just your typical listener; I either like something or I don’t, with no real rhyme or reason why. So, this post is not meant to be anything other than my opinion about the songs and album as a whole upon a first listen. 

Note: * indicates a bonus track exclusive to the deluxe version of the album. The track list is a bit different on the standard album as far as the order the songs are in as well.

1. Yours If You Want It – This song is the first single from the album and for the moment is my favorite song. It’s sweet and catchy and probably about the most “country” song on the album. Which is kind of disappointing if you are like me and really prefer older country music; however it is expected, as modern country just is not country. 

2. Hopin’ You Were Lookin’ – Meh. Not a favorite. There is something about this song that reminds me of Beau Black’s song for The Lion Guard on Disney Channel. It’s kind of got a Carly Rae Jepson Call Me Maybe feel to it as well, as far as the lyrics go. 

3.  I Know You Won’t – I both love and hate this song. I love it because it is absolutely beautiful. I hate it because it hits too close to home for me. It is all about that relationship you want so much to work, but you know it won’t. 

4. Dance – Catchy and upbeat, this is one of those songs that inexplicably (and in this case, very appropriately) makes you want to dance. Even if you don’t dance. Like me. Totally lack any sort of grace or coordination lol. 

5. Back To Us – The title song from the album, this one is about those times in life when we drift away from ourselves, push away the people we love. It’s about getting back to yourself and the people you love. It’s a great song, and is one of my favorites from this album.

6. Kiss You While I Can – A “live in the moment because tomorrow is not promised” song, this is another peppy, catchy song. It has a kind of “tropical” sound to it, if that makes sense. Not a favorite, but I like it. 

7. Vandalized – This one is hard to find words for. It has an upbeat, happy sound to it but the lyrics do not quite match that feeling, in telling about a relationship where the other person enjoys breaking you down, and you keep coming back for more. I dunno. Not sure I like it. 

8. Are You Happy Now (with Lauren Alaina) – As the title may suggest this song is all about the karma of broken relationships. I am not familiar with Lauren Alaina, but (at least on this song) she’s not bad, and her style meshes well with that of Rascal Flatts.  Nicely done. I like it. 

*9. Hands Talk – This one is an upbeat number about the importance of maintaining the intimacy in a relationship. That is the best way I can describe it. It’s not my favorite, but it’s ok. 

*10. Thieves – I am not sure what to say about this one. Not sure if I like it or not yet. It’s a classic ‘reminiscing about the past’ song. Just ok for me.

11. Love What You’ve Done With The Place – A nice love song telling how the singer loves all the little traces of their partner around their house. I like this one a lot. 

*12. Roller Rink – Ridiculously catchy, it’s bound to bring back memories for anybody who ever spent time at a roller rink as a kid/teen. Which yes, I did. (Though I spent much more at the local ice rink. Same overall feel between the two places though.) There’s something about this song, it’s far from country but I like it! 

13. Our Night To Shine – I’m undecided how I feel about this one. It’s ok. There’s just something about it that I don’t quite like though. 

Overall: 8 of the 13 tracks I definitely like, and the other 5 I am iffy about. None that I absolutely do not like at all though so it’s a win. The ones I am not sure of will likely grow on me with a few more listens. I wish it were a little less poppy and more country, but this is the sound that is expected of modern country and all things considered the music Rascal Flatts puts out is still usually more country than most other artists put out these days. As a whole, I’m happy with it! 

Until next time. xoxo 

2 thoughts on “Rascal Flatts Back To Us – First Impressions”

  1. Very thorough and helpful review.
    I always said you give the best reviews. You ought to work on one of those product review sites. I’ve heard some of them pay.
    I hope your week is going well.

    1. I actually am a member of a site where bloggers can find paid opportunities to review things. The problem is most companies only want people who are actively on every social media site and who have hundreds of thousands of subscribers across all platforms. Since I really do not use social media (facebook is for family and a couple friends only, rarely post to Twitter, only use youtube as a viewer not a content creator) and have a small audience here, I tend to not qualify for the opportunities. Every once in a while I will get a free product for review, but that is it. That’s ok though. If you get too many of those kinds of opportunities it can take away from your blog a bit if you’re not careful, I think.

Leave a Reply

