Melting Pot

Randoms

Usually the system updates on my phone are “behind the scenes” upgrades to performance. The most recent update however included so many changes to the way the phone works (new hand gestures in several apps, screenshots are taken a little differently, homescreen shortcut folders are different etc) I feel like I have a new phone. There is one change that is driving me nuts though. The spacing of the letters on the keypad has been tweaked – so now I am continually pressing the wrong letters while I type. The voice to text feature got some updates as well and while I have not used it a lot since the update it does not seem quite as accurate as before. More notably, though, is the fact that it now censors me if I cuss. *insert eyeroll here* 

Princess is showing small signs of improvement in her behavior, but she still has a long way to go. She still thinks she is the boss, and that is not ok. She will get there though. It is just going to take some time. She is a sweetie, though, and she has grown on me quite a bit. She snores when she sleeps, more often than not, which is ridiculously adorable and amusing. Rascal snores sometimes as well. As I type this I am sitting on the couch with Rascal snuggled up on my left amd Princess on my right, both girls snoozing away. I am a happy dog mom. ๐Ÿ˜โค๐Ÿถ๐Ÿถ

I spent this past weekend at a friend’s house, mostly being kept busy by her four year old. I took ingredients with me to make a batch of icing, to show my friend how I make it. I have developed a reputation for making “the best icing”. My friend and her family all love it, my aunt and cousins love it, a friend of my aunt even asked me to make a batch for her to put on some mini cakes she baked for a holiday gathering with her family. I find it fascinating how people ask me to make icing for them. It is just a basic American buttercream, nothing special… but I do admit my method is different from what most folks do when they make an American buttercream so mine IS different than what most folks make. I am sure there are others who make it like I do. I don’t even use a recipe to make it, it is one of those things I just… make. The funny thing is, it is not even my favorite kind of icing, either to make or to eat. I prefer Swiss meringue buttercream (though I admit I have not tried making my own Italian or French meringue buttercreams yet) but usually when I bake I end up making my American buttercream since that is what everyone always wants/expects. 

It has been cold and rainy the past couple of days, and we are expected to see more snow this weekend. The crocuses and daffodils are up despite this, though, so spring is close now to be certain. 

Until next time. xoxo 

1 thought on “Randoms”

  1. Sounds like your updates were extensive. I hope you can work out the issues they’ve caused.
    I always enjoy hearing about you girls. It sounds like they both know you love them and are keeping you snug and warm. Sweet.
    That’s neat about your icing. You’re a gifted baker along with all your other talents.
    Don’t you just love it when the first flowers of Spring bloom. They’re like little smiles of hope.
    Have a great rest of the week. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

