Blogging For Books

Book Review

doodletopia-fairies

Doodletopia Fairies by Christopher Hart

If you’ve been around a while, you may remember I have reviewed a couple other Doodletopia books in the past. I enjoy Christopher Hart’s style, and find his sense of humor in the written portions of the books to be very similar to my own. As I’ve been trying to improve my drawing skills lately, and I like fairies, when I saw this book I knew I had to have it!

True to the style I have come to expect, this is a lovely and well-constructed how-to-draw book. Peppered with Hart’s humorous comments and observations about the characters he is teaching the reader to draw, the book takes you step by step through learning to draw fairies from their facial features, clothes, and even their homes and everything in between.

The layout is again as expected, with one page of guided instruction and tips and the adjacent page has the basic forms drawn for you, and it is your job to fill in the details to finish the image(s). Some pages have both the guided instruction and basic outline on the same page, and there are also some pages that are left for you to 100% draw an image on your own. The ones with the basic outlines provided may sometimes actually kind of hinder what you want to do a bit since those lines obviously can not be erased and parts of them are lines that in a final drawing you would erase, but that is ok; the point of those particular exercises is to focus on the other details anyway and to teach you the basic process for your own drawings later on. And you can always use a separate sketch pad to do the exercises and make them totally your own rather than using the “finish the drawing” parts within the book.

While you certainly have the option of replicating the images on the instruction pages, you are encouraged to give the drawings your own personal flair. But it is totally up to you how you finish the drawings on the practice pages.

Here are a couple of my completed practice pages from the book; these are from the very beginning of the book as I am still working my way through it one “lesson” at a time and have not gotten far into it yet though I have flipped through the entire thing.

wp-1479589151621.jpg

wp-1479589213666.jpg

wp-1479589237176.jpg

wp-1479589275181.jpg

The book is a wonderful addition to the Doodletopia series, and is my favorite of the ones I have/have seen so far. I am looking forward to seeing future additions to the series!

If you are interested in Doodletopia Fairies, click here to learn more about it.

I received this book from Blogging For Books for this review.

Until next time. xoxo

Leave a Reply

