Blogging For Books

Book Review

natural-colors-book

Natural Color by Sasha Duerr

I’ve been holding off on reviewing this particular book because I wanted to actually try one of the projects before reviewing, however I simply have not had the opportunity to get the supplies yet and my dye pot and tools are not available to me at the moment. Hopefully not too far down the road I can revisit this book with a second post about one of the projects.

I have tried my hand at dyeing yarn in the not too distant past and I enjoyed it quite a bit. So when I saw this book, I thought it might be handy for learning how to use natural products to dye yarn as opposed to the little tubs of chemical dye I have sitting on the counter right now. Though of course, and as the author notes, just because something is “natural” does not necessarily mean that it is not harmful if not handled properly and even when using natural dye methods some ingredients need to be used with caution.

This book is very well made, it’s nice and sturdy with full color photos throughout. It’s a beautiful book to flip through.

The information provided is quite extensive. The author really made sure to include all the information you need to get started with dying fabrics, from setting up a home dye studio to caring for your completed items. It is really quite interesting seeing how so many common things can be used to dye fabric, including things you may have never considered before. There are a wide variety of projects, with very thorough instructions, to dye fabrics with things such as rose petals, pine needles, pine cones, citrus rinds, even onion skins.

While it is certainly not a book for everyone, if you’re interested in dyeing your own fabrics it’s very interesting and informative.

If you’re interested in learning more about this book, click here.

I received this book from Blogging For Books for this review.

2 thoughts on “Book Review

    1. It is not really geared toward dyeing yarn; but since I have experience with that it may be useful for me for that purpose. If one new to yarn dyeing wanted to learn, this would not be a helpful book. It is ideal though if you want to learn about natural dyeing methods for dyeing natural fabrics like linen, cotton, silk etc. There is one project that is done on a knitted item, which was done with thick roving rather than an actual yarn, but that’s the closest this book comes to discussing dyeing yarn. There are books specifically about yarn dyeing out there but I wouldn’t know what to recommend, as I just asked my sister what was needed and what to do since she hand dyes yarn as a business. =)

Leave a Reply

