Melting Pot

No Filter Friday

Once again, this is a cake I had made a long time ago and was pretty darned sure I had posted it here but looking back through my posts it seems I did not post it. If I did, I am somehow missing it when I look back through my posts for it.

img_7228

I just love this piggies in mud cake! It’s one of those “pinterest found” ideas that’s been floating around the internet for some time, though I honestly can not remember when or where I first saw it. It could have been Pinterest, it may have been a local farm’s facebook page, or it may have just been something I stumbled on during one of my periodic “cake inspiration” google searches. I truly can’t say. All I know is it took me a couple years to get around to making it for myself.

If you’re not sure how to go about making your own piggies in mud cake, Elise of My Cupcake Addiction has a video tutorial (https://youtu.be/HLXtCsJfNoQ). I adore Elise and her videos are always so clear and helpful, so I recommend checking out her youtube channel if you’re at all into baking and want to have some cute, clever ideas to put to use. =)

When I made my version of this cake, I used modeling chocolate instead of fondant for my little piggies. It functions very similarly to fondant but tastes much better (because hello, CHOCOLATE! in this case, white chocolate lol) so I prefer it for pretty much anything that others would use fondant for. Modeling chocolate is very easy to make; it’s just two ingredients – chocolate and light corn syrup. If you’re in the UK or another part of the world where there is no such product as “corn syrup” you’ll want to look for glucose syrup. You can also use candy melts instead of chocolate, which is a great way around having to tint the modeling chocolate to whatever colors you may need, or for other flavors as candy melts also come in flavored varieties, and lots of colors. Instructions for making modeling chocolate can be found on numerous sites of course but my favorite is from Cake Paper Party: http://www.cakepaperparty.com/2014/03/make-modeling-chocolate-make/

I also chose to use some nonpareils for my piggies’ eyes, as without them I felt like they were missing something. I used some packaged green decorator icing (I did not want to make a whole batch of homemade icing for the tiny amount I needed for this cake) and a grass tip to pipe little tufts of “grass” around the base of the cake and popped in a few premade sugar flowers to complete it.

This is one of my favorite cakes I’ve ever made; probably in the top 3; definitely in the top 5.

Until next time. xoxo

2 thoughts on “No Filter Friday”

  1. What an enchanting cake. I bet it tasted delightful. Your sculpting and cookie pen is wonderful. Looks like cute little piggies doing what piggies enjoy doing best. lol
    This cake is one of the reasons I thought you might have some success in a baking business. I understand why you don’t pursue it though. I’m hoping that maybe someday you might change your mind.
    Your No-filter Friday photo is very fun and tasty. 🙂

Leave a Reply

