Baking, In The Kitchen, Recipes

Caramel Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’ve been having a bad weekend. What better cure for a crummy string of days than some cookies? Well, actually I can think of several things right away but I’m working with what I’ve got, folks. That means baking cookies.

20161016_134804_wm

I had been wanting to bake these particular cookies for a while but somehow the chocolates for the “stuffed” aspect kept vanishing before I ever got around to baking cookies. Mystery… *innocent look*

20161016_134730_wm

Anyway. Everybody likes their cookies a certain way so let me tell you first and foremost what kind of cookies this recipe is going to give you: soft, chewy, THICK cookies. If you like your cookies thin and/or crispy, keep walkin’ cause this is not that kind of recipe. I’m not convinced that those kinds of cookies will work for “stuffed” cookies but since I do not make them I really can’t say but if you want to give it a go then by all means don’t let me stop you. My only advice to you would be to only stuff and bake one cookie first just to see what happens. If it works out well then you can keep on going; if not you can bake off the rest of your dough as plain ol’ chocolate chip cookies as if that was the plan all along and you’ll have only sacrificed a single cookie to the Cookie Gods.

If, however, you agree with me that cookies are best when they’re thick and soft and chewy with only the slightest hint of crispness at the very outer edges then read on as there’s an excellent chance you’ll love this recipe. I’m not going to promise you will definitely love it because hey, you never know. But you just may agree with me that it’s the best chocolate chip cookie recipe ever. I came up with it myself (via altering other recipes to suit my preferences) though I have a sneaking suspicion it exists as it is for others out there too. I mean, chocolate chip cookies are kind of popular afterall.

Of course, you can make this recipe minus the “stuffing” and you’ll have fabulous plain chocolate chip cookies. I actually did half plain half stuffed today. But I’ll leave that up to you. Have I mentioned that this recipe is also ridiculously easy? I made these (unstuffed) a while back rather spontaneously one day and J commented on the short amount of time it took for me to go from “I want cookies” to sitting down eating cookies while the dishwasher did it’s thing cause I was totally done baking.

What you’ll need:

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened

1 cup light brown sugar, packed

1/2 cup granulated sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

3 cups all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

11.5 oz milk chocolate chips

1 bag Dove Caramel & Milk Chocolate chocolates

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350° F. Unwrap the Dove Caramel & Milk Chocolate chocolates and place unwrapped chocolates in a bowl and set aside.

In a small bowl, stir together the flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter, light brown sugar, and granulated sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs and vanilla till well mixed.

On low speed, gradually add the flour mixture, scraping down the sides of the bowl a couple times if needed. Once all the flour mixture has been incorporated, stir in the chocolate chips.


20161016_132713_wm 20161016_132723_wm20161016_133153_wm

Line cookie sheets with parchment paper. Scoop out 1 Tablespoon of dough; shape into a ball and gently flatten it a bit. Place one of the Dove chocolates on the dough, then take another 1 Tablespoon scoop of dough and place it on top of the chocolate. Gently press the dough closed around the chocolate to form a ball; place on the parchment lined cookie sheet and press lightly to flatten it slightly. Repeat with the remaining dough, placing cookies about 2 inches apart on the sheets.

Bake for 10-14 minutes until edges are golden brown and tops look mostly dry. Ovens vary and some run a little higher or lower in temperature, so check the cookies after 10 minutes and add on a minute or two at a time as needed till the cookies are done. Allow the cookies to cool for 4-5 minutes on the sheets before removing to wire racks to cool completely. Store at room temperature in an airtight container.

20161016_134547_wm 20161016_134554_wm

20161016_134559_wm 20161016_134601_wm

I even (finally) learned how to make a printable recipe for y’all. Probably not the easiest way to do it but what the heck it works. Or, it SHOULD. Someone will have to verify it and let me know. If it doesn’t work… I have no idea what I’m doing so I can’t fix it, sorry. No, I have no shame… not about my complete lack of technical prowess anyway. Click the print button below to print this recipe. Hopefully. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you…

print-button-001-scaled-to-100
(Yes, I even took time to design my own print button. Because existing ones I found were ugly. Mine is pretty.)

20161016_134642_wm

Until next time. xoxo

3 thoughts on “Caramel Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Your cookies look delicious. I may have to give your recipe a try some time. You’re so clever to stuff the cookies like that. I bet they were super rich and delightful.
    Your print button looks pretty and works like a charm.
    Your recipe printed off beautifully.
    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

