Baking · Cake Decorating · In The Kitchen · No Filter Friday

No Filter Friday (Halloween Cupcakes)

A little something different for No Filter Friday this week!

Last year I had posted about some Halloween cupcakes I’d made, to try glow in the dark icing for the first time. Click here if you want to see that post. If you’re not that curious, here’s a condensed version: glow in the dark icing was NOT to my liking any nobody else that ate them cared for it either so IMO while glow in the dark icing sure sounds cool, skip it and stick with something that tastes good. As for the decorative aspects of those cupcakes, I had specific things in the pantry I wanted to use but the results were… well. Also not to my liking.

I realized the other day I never did get around to updating on those cupcakes or the fact that I made them a second time, for a family friend’s daughter to take to school for her class Halloween party. I changed things up with the second batch; I just made my usual American buttercream icing, and used different decorative items for a FAR better finished look!

I am particularly proud of these cupcakes. Especially the witches – they were 100% my own creation and NOT something spotted on pinterest or in a magazine etc. Sure, it’s entirely possible with how many bakers there are in the world that someone else thought them up too, and surely someone has a version that is even better. But that does not take away from the fact that I thought them up on my own, without having seen them anywhere else first. The ghost cupcakes were easy to think of but they’re also kind of a Halloween standard for bakers. I mean, blob of white icing plus something for the eyes – no brainer right? The monsters, I honestly can’t be sure. I want to say I thought those up myself too but there’s a nagging thought in my head that I’d seen them in some magazine years ago and filed the idea away for future use.

Anyway. I feel like a dope for not having updated last year with the second batch pictures as they are far superior to the first batch that got posted. But I am posting now, and maybe if you’re on the hunt for something cute to make for Halloween this year this will be your solution!

12191028_909222335809918_6947460590501813717_n_wm

I also did black, orange, and purple swirls on some but for some reason I can’t find the picture of those ones.

Anyway. Obviously you can use any cupcake recipe you like, and while I prefer my homemade American buttercream icing any decorator icing you like will work as long as it’s good for piping (not too thin, so that it can hold its shape).

The ghosts again are a total no brainer – use a large round tip (1A or 2A preferably) to pipe a big swirl of white icing. Pop a couple small black sugar pearls on for eyes and voila!

The monsters are the next “least involved” – tint the icing with whatever color(s) you like (really wish I could find the picture of the second box of cupcakes; I made some monsters with multi-colored “hair”!) then use a multi-opening tip (233 or 234) to pipe strands of “hair” all over the cupcakes. Place some candy eyes around in the icing, and your little monster cupcakes are done!

The witches are more involved, but still simple. You can use whatever colors you like, of course, but I’ll explain the process with the colors I used as examples. You’ll want to start by making the hats. To do this, use a small amount of melted chocolate to adhere Hershey’s Kisses to the tops of Oreo Fudge Cremes cookies. Pop them into the fridge or freezer for several minutes so the melted chocolate can set and hold them together. Meanwhile, with green icing and a large round tip (again, 1A or 2A) pipe a large dollop of icing on just half of each cupcake to create the witch’s “face”. Use an icing spatula to smooth the surface if desired. Then with a multi- opening tip (233 or 234 again) and purple icing, fill in the other half of the cupcakes by piping “hair” for your witches. Place one hat on top of each cupcake. Then use the green candies from a box of Mike & Ike candy to make the witch noses. Finish off your witches with small black sugar pearls for the eyes.

Sprinkling some or all of the cupcakes with some iridescent edible glitter is optional. I don’t think you can tell in the picture, but I opted for doing so. Glitter makes everything better. 😉

I hope you enjoyed this little venture away from the normal No Filter Friday, and if you make any of these Halloween cupcakes yourself I’d love to see how they turned out!

Until next time. xoxo

2 thoughts on “No Filter Friday (Halloween Cupcakes)

  1. These cupcakes are amazing. I love the witches you are so clever. You ought to open a bake shop or at least bake for the public selling cakes and goodies from your home.
    It’s ashame the glow-in-the-dark didn’t work out. Your cupcakes are so pretty and fun that they don’t need it anyway. I think the glow from the smiles they must bring would light up the day.
    Your update is perfect for this time of year when folks are planning for the spooky holiday this month.
    🙂

    1. Thanks! I had at one time considered selling cakes from home but after looking into the legalities of it decided it’s not for me, not right now anyway. There are certain requirements about the kind of equipment you have, your home has to pass inspection, and you’re not allowed to have indoor pets. As for having a proper bake shop – maybe some day. As the saying goes you have to spend money to make money but I have no money to spend to get started. LOL

Leave a Reply

