Baking, In The Kitchen, No Filter Friday, Recipes

No Filter Friday

20160901_194506-01_wm

A little bit of a different photo for this week’s No Filter Friday, but I could not help myself with this one. =)

As y’all know I love my cinnamon, and as such cinnamon rolls are one of my favorite treats. However, for many years I could not find a recipe for a homemade cinnamon roll that I really liked. As crazy as it sounds, the canned ones from the grocery store were better. Well, I finally found a recipe that is fantastic! I made two batches, two days in a row. The bulk of them went into vacuum sealed bags and into the freezer to be baked off another time – it is the nature of them to dry out quickly and when you only have two people to cook/bake for, baking up a full batch at once is not the best approach. I’ll be making up another batch soon, probably, to have more in the freezer. While they are not quite as good baked from frozen as they are from fresh, it’s darned close. Close enough that if you did not know for a fact they had been frozen, you would not be likely to figure it out on your own that they were not freshly prepared. You can’t decide last minute you want some cinnamon rolls – you do still need to plan a bit in advance so they have time to thaw out and rise before baking when you pull them from the freezer. But it is still a lot faster and easier than starting from scratch, and this particular recipe is much better than those store bought ones I used to rely on! You can find the recipe and tips on freezing them on Mavis Butterfield’s blog by clicking here.

2 thoughts on “No Filter Friday”

  1. Sounds delicious. I book-marked the site. Being able to freeze the rolls is so helpful. Thanks for posting the link. I think your No Filter Friday Photo looks mighty tasty and is mighty pretty. 🙂

    1. Thanks! I forgot to mention that for the second batch I made (which is what is pictured) I did change up the process for the filling just a little. The recipe has you use melted butter. To me that was too messy and a lot of the filling got squished out as I rolled up the dough. So the second time I just used softened butter and spread it over the dough then sprinkled the cinnamon sugar on top. Some of the cinnamon sugar still spilled out of the sides a bit but overall it was much less messy and all the yummy stuff stayed inside where it belongs a lot better this way. =)

Leave a Reply

