Melting Pot

SaturdayRandoms

My sister is a brilliant knitter. While I can follow patterns with minimal issues, she can actually design her own items. She usually needs my help, though. Designing patterns involves a fair amount of math, and this is not one of my sister’s strengths. I’m not sure I’d call it one of my strengths either, as honestly I can’t really do much in the way of mental math or split second mental calculations. But give me a pencil and paper and a little time and there are few mathematical problems I can’t figure out. My sister recently had me help her with the math portion of her latest shawl, which she’s now almost completed and I have to say it’s probably her most stunning design yet.

When it comes to crochet, my sister’s yarn working skills take sharp turn in the opposite direction. If she’s going to be crocheting anything she is definitely asking me for help. Frequently. She has decided she might want to offer kits to make crochet pumpkin coasters for fall/Halloween in her online yarn shop, or at the very least offer a video tutorial on making them. Which means she turned to me for a pattern. I don’t know that even with the number of years of crochet experience I have that I could design anything really truly wonderful like her knit shawls, but when it comes to simpler things like this I can usually work it out eventually. I only have the yarn for my in-progress afghan with me, and some that’s on knitting needles waiting for me to not be bored to tears by working entrelac anymore. So, my colors are not at all what you’d expect from a pumpkin, but the pattern is complete and has been sent to my sister for her use. Whether she actually gets to it or not, we will have to wait and see.

20160820_183354

In the proper colors, I think this would be exceptionally cute. One could also embroider on faces to make them look like jack-o-lanterns. But since I’ve passed the pattern on to my sister… I will have to wait till she’s got it available to share it. Or ask her if she’s ok with me sharing it here. I’ll make another post about it either way, in the future.

J and I will be taking a short road trip tomorrow. I will most likely share the reason why tomorrow once we get back. If not tomorrow then Monday. But probably tomorrow, because I am excited about it. 😊

I received a product in the mail today that I had ordered a while back. I have not tried it yet but it is going to be added to the little list of things I want to review here when I get the change to get everything sorted out to do that. I remember now why I kind of got away from beauty blogging. It is a full time job. Sadly, one that does not pay. Never did for me anyway. I know some are lucky enough to be paid for blogging. If I could be among those folks I absolutely would. Alas, I am not so lucky. And google adsense is not an option for me, because I forgot an account I had set up many many moons ago so they banned me when I set up a “second” account and of course trying to appeal it was futile. How hard would it have been to say “We see you already have an account under such and such email address, multiple accounts are not allowed so please log in with your other address.” ? But no, I guess that would have made too much sense. *insert eyeroll here*

I am attempting to install a program on the computer. Y’all know technology and I do not mix. Cross your fingers I don’t accidentally kill my computer. With that said, I shall finish up this post via mobile and hopefully have access to my computer again in a few minutes. But we all know Windows hates when you install new stuff and takes forever about it and the inevitable restart that is needed etc.

Until next time. xoxo

Leave a Reply

