Melting Pot

Thinky

My train of thought does not want to stay on track so this will be a little bit of a random, rambly post.

Yesterday morning I was all mentally prepared to have a bagel with cream cheese for breakfast. Sadly, it did not happen. You see, upon opening up the just-purchased-on-Saturday package of cream cheese and scooping some out with a butter knife, as I usually do, I made a very unpleasant discovery.

20160718_125829

I have NO idea what that substance is, but it is definitely NOT cream cheese. My first clue something was amiss was the fact that the bit I had scooped up with the butter knife was super soft and almost liquidy. For some reason I dismissed this and ignored the blob of unusually thin cream cheese that had fallen onto the paper towel and went about my business to spread what had made it to the bagel, planning to scoop up what I had dropped in a bit. And that is when I discovered this piece of… whatever it is, in my cream cheese. Different color than cream cheese, kind of rubbery texture… I loathe being wasteful, but at the same time I don’t like to risk certain food issues and this is one of them. I refuse to eat the cream cheese from this pack; and as it was a 2 pack I also refuse to eat the second package either since it is the same batch/lot of product and is therefore also contaminated. Again, I have no clue what it is, but YUCK! FYI this is Great Value brand cream cheese and if you also use this stuff and are concerned about whatever the heck this is, the batch/lot number can be seen in the image below. I wrote to WM customer care about this immediately, but am as of the time of writing this post still waiting for a reply.

20160718_233307

I received some bad news on Friday evening. My elderly uncle was apparently mugged on his way home from the store on Thursday evening. As of right now he is still in the hospital. I am simply grateful that for now it seems despite all the injuries he is going to be ok. Hopefully that remains true, and hopefully nothing else bad happens to him. According to the news article, it was a group of teenagers that did it and they are still investigating and hoping someone will come forward with information about what happened/who is responsible.

On a much lighter note, I recently finished an art class on Craftsy. I am going to save the bulk of my thoughts for now, as I intend to review the class in a future post. However for the moment I will say I very much enjoyed the class and found it to be incredibly informative and helpful.

If you read my last post then you know I’ve been struggling with my wrists recently. I finally managed to finish the third round of the seventh square for my afghan. I am hoping later today to get at least one or two more rounds done, but we’ll have to wait and see. I did a little research on those copper and other magnetic bracelets that are supposed to be helpful for various joint related ailments. I’ve been considering getting one to see if it makes any difference for me, but was curious about their effectiveness. I looked into the different metals specifically because I have metal sensitivities thus a lot of jewelry is unwearable for me. I am not sure on how my skin reacts to copper – if I have ever tried wearing anything copper it has been long enough I do not remember how it went. I found some stainless steel magnetic bracelets on Amazon, and I CAN wear stainless steel so I thought I’d look into just how much of the supposed helpfulness of these bracelets comes from the metal itself and how much is the magnets. In my researching I found what I expected to. The general consensus is that it all comes down to placebo effect. From what I read, those who claim it is not mere placebo effect seemed to agree it was more about the magnets than the metals used. So, I may still try to get myself a bracelet just to see. I mean, even if it is mere placebo effect if it helps then it helps, right? And even with this being the consensus, there are still those out there who swear these things truly help. My own aunt is among them. Can’t hurt to try anyway, is how I see it. I just need to find a bracelet that I actually like and am willing to wear that is made of a metal I know I can wear, and does not cost a small fortune.

I am a big fan of sweet tea. Like to the point I drink so much of it, it’s probably definitely not healthy, if nothing else than because of the amount of sugar in it. So I am trying to switch over to using stevia for my sweet tea, instead. I love stevia for a lot of things but it definitely has its own taste, so depending on how it is put to use it can absolutely change the final flavor of things. For example, sweet tea. No, it does not result in a tea that tastes bad; just different. I may have to ween myself off of sugar sweetened tea in favor of stevia sweetened tea by swapping a portion of the sugar for stevia in increments till I am using only the stevia to sweeten it.

Well. I suppose that is sufficient rambling for now. Until next time, y’all. xoxo

 

2 thoughts on “Thinky”

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your Uncle. My healing thoughts are with him. I hope he heals quickly and fully. Bless his heart, his world has been turned upside down. I can’t imagine the emotional turmoil this will cause him.
    I hope they catch the criminals soon and prosecute them to the fullest extent of the law.

    I look forward to your review of the craftsy class.

    I wish you well with your magnetic or copper bracelet. I agree that as long as something works, the dynamics of it doesn’t matter to me. I hope you can find one to try soon.

    I used to drink sweet tea and still do occessionally. I have Stevia growing in my herb garden. I’ve never used it, but I’ve read it’s good to use instead of sugar. I hope the Stevia works out for you.

    1. Thank you sweetie. I cannot fathom the way some people treat other living beings. Hopefully somebody out there knows something about who did it and steps up to help find them.

      I’ve never used fresh stevia, only powdered stevia from the store. I don’t think I’ve even seen stevia plants or seeds, now that I think of it. But then I never really looked either. I’ll have to try to remember to look for it the next time we are buying plants and seeds. =)

Leave a Reply

