Blogging For Books

Book Review

The Time Garden by Daria Song

image

The Time Garden is supposed to be “A magical journey and coloring book”. This is targeted at adults rather than children, but of course there would be nothing wrong with this being for a child. I am a fan of adult coloring books, so I was really excited to get this one.

It is not really what I was expecting, though. The cover is gorgeous ad sets high expectations that, for me, were simply not met. The small bit of written story that is part of the book is indeed quite juvenile. The illustrations are meant to do the majority of the storytelling. I think that is where it fails.

The illustrations are beautiful, don’t get me wrong. But they are incredibly repetitive. Each of them has very repetitive aspects in and of themselves that, for me, would be extremely boring to take time to actually color. But more than that, the exact same images are shown one after another. On one page will be the overall image, then the next page shows a close-up of a part of the previous image. It’s very redundant, and takes away from the potential of the book to be a well told visual story.

I am more likely to give this book away than to make use of it myself, if I can find someone who would enjoy it.

If you would like to learn more about this book, click here.

I received this book from Blogging For Books for this review.

Leave a Reply

