Blogging For Books

Book Review

The Realism Challenge by Mark Crilley

image

As a fan of art in general,  I enjoy learning about art and seeing the creative process at work as much as I enjoy viewing completed pieces. I am always hoping to learn a little something myself, as I wish I had some degree of artistic ability for sketching and painting.  Alas,  I do not possess such talents and am not likely to ever have them. 

That said,  while I enjoyed looking through this book it is not geared toward folks like me.  It is,  however,  suitable for those who DO have artistic talents already who wish to expand upon their abilities. I am not familiar with the author and have never seen any of his YouTube videos,  but they are apparently popular and he is fairly well known for them. They are discussed briefly in the book.  I will check them out when I have some time to do so as watching artists at work fascinates me. 

He walks the reader through numerous step by step projects one can use to practice and fine tune their sketching abilities to create incredibly life-like images of everyday objects.  He discusses adding shadows,  textures,  highlights and colors to mimic the images you are recreating on paper.  Everything from popcorn to glass bottles to roses and much more is covered. 

While I will not be able to personally apply his lessons. I enjoyed reading about his techniques and seeing how he goes from a blank sheet of paper to a stunning piece of artwork.  I think this book would be enjoyable for artists and those who share my appreciation of art who just like getting “behind the scenes” looks at how art is created. 

You can learn more about this book by clicking here,  if you like. 

I received this book from Blogging For Books for this review.

Leave a Reply

