Melting Pot

For Finicky Crocheters

Many of us have probably just accepted that when we crochet in the round,  there is going to be a visible,  even if not necessarily blatant, seam line where the rounds end/begin. In fact I would venture a guess that this is something so accepted as simply being part of the process a lot of crocheters never even give it a second thought. 

Y’all know me,  so you see where this is going,  right?

I am a little OCD about some things.  Those seams in my crochet projects drive me bonkers. For years I’ve wished for a way to make them less visible. While I’ve come up with various little tweaks to how I work that help a little,  I’ve still never been very satisfied. 

I was recently googling around for some other crochet related things and stumbled onto the coolest thing ever that solves my dilemma: Mrs.  Micawber’s Mock Invisible Join.

Invisible Join is a beautiful thing for finishing off a piece in the round seamlessly. (Click here to learn how it is done if you’re not familiar with it.) I’ve finished my pieces in the round this way for several years,  because it gives the edge a neat,  tidy appearance.  But this is just for the very last round when you fasten off. (Or when changing colors at the end/beginning of a round.)   Some folks who have issues with the seams do this for every round of a project.  That’s cool if you don’t mind weaving in all those loose ends.  I mind that.  Very much.  One of the reasons I avoid very colorful projects or projects made with motifs is my extreme dislike of weaving in ends.

Mrs.  M’s Mock Invisible Join is a method that uses the same basic principal of the invisible join to give the rounds of your work a nearly seamless appearance without having to cut the yarn.

I had to watch her video to understand the process. Her written instruction and photos are lovely but for me it just wasn’t clicking so I was happy she had also made a video to show how it is done.  I had to re-watch the video several times to get it,  because she doesn’t go very slowly in showing what you are to do,  but that’s the beauty of a video: you can keep replaying till you get it. 

Even after watching the video several times I still had to practice a bit to get it. I am still getting used to it but it is fabulous and I will never go back to the standard methods for joining and starting rounds! 

I’d been planning to make a(nother) hat with the leftover yarn I have from making the hat pattern for my sister (which she still hasn’t photographed) and once I got the hang of the mock invisible join enough I felt confident using it for an actual project as opposed to practice pieces,  I got that yarn out and got started. 

image
Don't you just love this? 😁

One important note is that this method does leave a visible seam on the wrong side of the fabric,  so this is really only suited to things where the wrong side will not be seen. 

Also,  it DOES work with the magic loop technique as well as a standard chained start.  There are a couple ways to do magic loop, click here for a tutorial which is for the method I use. You can google for other methods. Note this technique is also called magic ring or drawstring loop.

I’m off to work on this hat a bit more.  It’s just going to be a basic DC hat but I am going to do a knitted brim, I think. I haven’t totally decided yet. 

Until next time. xoxo

Leave a Reply

