Blogging For Books · In The Kitchen

Book Review

Lighten Up, Y’all by Virginia Willis

image

This book offers up “classic southern recipes” made healthier than their standard versions.

I am honestly not wowed by this book. It is not exactly what I was expecting but maybe my idea of ‘classic southern’ foods is different than the author’s.

I do like the overall layout of the book. It is broken down into chapters for appetizers, salads, poultry, grains etc. Each recipe inccludes basic nutritional data: calories, fat, carbs, fiber, and protein per serving. This is helpful if you are counting calories (or the other values provided) so you don’t have to do the calculations yourself. Most of the recipes cone in at under 300 calories per serving and many are even under 200 so the recipes are definitly “diet” friendly.

As with any recipe book there are some that appeal to me and some that don’t. There really are not any recipes that stand out to me that I feel compelled to make asap, though. The photos included are lovely, but there are not photos included for each recipe. There are few exceptions but generally speaking I prefer recipe books that include a photo for each recipe. It’s nice to have a visual to go on, I think.

I doubt this is a book I would ever pay the $25 for. It is ok, just not great to me.

If you think you may enjoy this book you can learn more about it by clicking here.

I recieved this book from Blogging For Books for this review.

Leave a Reply

