Melting Pot

Book Review

Novel Interiors by Lisa Borgnes Giramonti

image

The premise of this book is “Living in enchanted rooms inspired by literature”. Bookworm that I am, I was drawn to the idea of interior design tips and inspiration for creating spaces in the home to make me feel like I am in one of my favorite literary abodes.

Unfortunately, that is not really what I got from the book. I felt the connections made between the showcased housing and the literary quotes were a stretch at best. While many of the rooms pictured are indeed stunning, there were none that really felt like they were inspired by any of the novels referenced.

This book is very much aimed at book lovers, but it read much more as an introduction to interior design (with a couple outdoor bits thrown in) and even if you are not much of a fan of books if you are looking for some ideas for decorating your home you might find some in this book. It covers things like selecting a color palette for a room, using light and shapes and color to create a certain “feel”, mixing patterns etc.

The photos are plentiful and lovely. I saw quite a few spaces that have been mentally added to my dream home that if I ever had the means I would love to have. I like the check lists of “finishing touches” of ideas for items that add those little details that make a room really come together.

If you are expecting to see rooms that make you feel like you are in the setting of some favorite novels, you will likely be disappointed. However, if you approach the book expecting to simply learn some good design tips and get some inspiration, you may be pleased with what you find. There are a handful of chapters set around certain general styles of design to suit a variety of preferences, from simple and understated to bold and eclectic. This would be a good coffee table book, and a good choice for anyone into interior design (regardless of the level of their interest in books).

You can get more information about this book by clicking here.

I received this book from Blogging For Books for this review.

One thought on “Book Review

  1. Hey sweetness. Just dropping in to let you know I’m still alive and kicking. 🙂 I hope things are going okay for you; it’s been quite awhile since you last posted… and since I was able to drop by and visit you. Sending you lots of love, hugs, and good energies, my friend – always!
    ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Leave a Reply

