Melting Pot

Randoms

My birthday is right around the corner again. Already. Jeeze. I swear it has not been a year yet. What the hell, Father Time? Something is screwy here… In all seriousness once again I am not really looking forward to my birthday for various reasons. But I can’t stop it from happening so oh well. I had considered making a cake again but am not going to do it. For one thing, my dad is likely to get me a cake from the local bakery. More importantly, I just do not feel like making a cake right now. Fewer calories consumed = a good thing. I may change my mind between now and my birthday of course. But for the moment I feel that is highly unlikely to happen.

A while back my grandma shared something on Facebook that is supposed to help boost weight loss. It is a simple thing that is easy to add to the routine so I am giving it a try. Basically before bed you make cinnamon tea, sweeten it with raw honey, drink half then while warm and drink the other half cold first thing in the morning. No instruction as to how often this should be done was offered so I am going with nightly for now. If my body tells me this is not working I will go for less often. Tonight is only night two. We shall see with time if this helps or not. It is worth noting that in the past I have had success with using cinnamon and herbal teas to aid in my weight loss efforts so I feel like this has potential to actually help. I love cinnamon, and honey (especially raw, if you have never had raw honey oh you are missing out!) which helps make this something that will be easy to add to my routine since they are flavors I like. Granted it does taste better warm than cold but you drink such a small amount at a time it doesn’t matter much that cold is not quite as appealing.

Speaking of all that I need to get back into my workout routine again. I did a solid week then missed a week and a half due to illness (which even now I am still not 100% over) and by then Thanksgiving was less than a week away. I do not possess the willpower my mother does so unlike what she did on the holiday and stuck to her diet, I did the usual and made a pig of myself. Hey she made homemade cookies and nut rolls and noodles and cooked a big wonderful delicious meal for everybody… I wasn’t about to deprive myself of “only on Thanksgiving” indulgences! I did eat more than I should have though I did not overeat, as I honestly normally would have. So that is progress in willpower right? I believe so. 🙂

I have been knitting quite a bit lately. I have finished a couple projects in just a couple of weeks time, including one that I made up as I went that turned out exactly how I wanted (miraculously enough) that I had been wanting to make for several years. It is nice to be crossing things off the list and working my way through my stash, even if rather slowly.

Rascal seems to have sensitive feet. Not an issue I have ever had with one of my pups before. She has had two incidents recently with her feet which have left her hopping around on three legs while outside. She is never happy with me when it is time to put the medicine on her (currently affected) foot but she tolerates it. She hates the booties I got for her a while back with the first injured paw incident but again she tolerates it. I was hoping the booties would not have to be a regular thing for outdoors but it is starting to look like that may become necessary. I will just have to continue to monitor things and see how it all goes. I am glad she is such a cooperative little dog.

We looked at some old pictures while at my mom’s for Thanksgiving. My first thought on seeing many of myself I kept silent. It was the more expected thoughts I vocalized as if they were the first thoughts coming to mind – wow I was so skinny, I look so young etc. But honestly, the first thought I had on most of them was “I look so happy… why can’t I be that happy again?” Sigh. Oh well…

I am up way way way past my bed time and am tired so I am off.

xoxoxo

One thought on “Randoms

  1. The weight-loss battle… Ahhhh yes… I know it all too well. I am still struggling to get rid of all my excess poundage (and there’s a lot of it). But my struggle is more to do with emotions than with over-eating (though I’m guilty of that, as you well know). I think the layers would literally melt right off of me if I could just deal with the emotions. You know? Anyway, I’m glad that you’ve had some success with the honey/cinnamon drink; I haven’t tried it myself, but if it works for you, I just might. As you said, there’s nothing quite like the taste of raw honey… 🙂

    With the holidays approaching, I think it’s awesome that you’re not over-indulging, Leah. That totally counts as having willpower. ::thumbs up:: 🙂

    On a different note, please email me when you get a chance. I have a different blog with a different email address, and it’s only accessible to people I invite to it. I did try to invite you, but if you got the email, you may have discarded it because you didn’t know who it was from. So, if you email me, I can give you the info and send you an invite. 🙂

    Be well, sweetness. As always, I’m sending you lots of love, hugs, and good energies… 🙂
    ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Leave a Reply

