Melting Pot

10 Things I Hate/Love, Second Edition

I got good feedback on my 10 Things I Hate/Love post, so I figured why not go for another?

10 things I hate:

1. Girls/women (I am sure there are men too…) who wear leggings as if they are pants. Folks, if you were not aware of this, leggings are NOT pants! Here’s the thing: yes leggings are so comfy and they come in a variety of colors and prints to suit all styles. But once you pull them up over your ass, regardless of whether you are a size 3 or 30, they are see through. The whole world can see your panties or heaven forbid you have skipped them, then the world can see your business. And honey, other than your significant other (and a few perverts you pass by during your day) nobody wants to see that. Think of leggings as a pant version of a slip (of course, this assumes you know what a slip is and something tells me a lot of you have no clue what I am talking about) – they are undergarments. Meant to be worn, shockingly enough, under your actual garments. At the very least, a long tunic style top (where the hem falls at least at mid thigh if not closer to the knee) should be worn when you wear leggings. Do society, and yourself, a favor and stop wearing them like pants. I don’t care if they look like denim. They are not denim. They should not be worn as if they are denim. (I’m looking at you, pajama jeans infomercial…)

2. Appliances that come with cords that are a completely ridiculous length for the given use of said appliance. While the more common scene is “Why did they make the cord so short?” incidents of “Why the f**k is this cord so f**king long?!” do happen, too. A slightly shorter cord on certain things for some perceived safety is one thing. Although let’s be honest – a klutz or complete moron is going to hurt themselves regardless of cord length. Making the cord ludicrously short and rendering the appliance difficult to use or place as necessary is stupid. There is a simple little solution… extension cords. Which then cause clutter and are an ugly mess to look at (even when they come in pretty colors) but hey they make it a lot easier to place that pretty new lamp where you want it or to curl your hair without having to turn yourself in circles trying to stand six inches from the wall because the cord isn’t long enough to move the curling iron all the way around your head while you stand in one place in front of the mirror. On the flip side, a way too long cord that gets in the way and tangles up, making use of the given appliance difficult, is every bit as infuriatingly moronic.

3. Waiting for other people to be ready to go somewhere/arrive at a meeting place on time. I am so not the (stereo)typical woman who says “I’ll be ready in a minute” every five minutes for an hour while her husband waits impatiently for her to finish getting ready. It irks the hell out of me when plans are made to leave/meet at a certain time but others are not ready/there till an hour later. It’s one thing to be running a little late and to need an extra ten or fifteen minutes sometimes. Something unexpected and beyond your control making you late is also forgiveable. Habitual tardiness, however, is completely unacceptable. If you don’t know yourself well enough to plan accordingly for the length of time it takes you to get ready to go somewhere, you are going to have a pissed off redhead to deal with.

4. People who dye their hair red and call themselves a redhead and tag their social media posts with redhead centered tags like “redheadproblems” etc. If it came from a box of chemicals or henna instead of from genetics, you are NOT a redhead. After a lifetime of being teased for my red hair and all that comes with it (pale, freckles, a very red face when it is the slightest bit hot or cold etc.) which graduates to incredibly crude comments in the teen years (and those ones last for life every time you come across just the wrong person in your daily travels) I think I have earned the right to get miffed by this and to want to verbally abuse the faux redheads who act like they have a clue what it is like to be a redhead when they don’t, because they aren’t. I don’t ever actually do it, of course. I just get steamed and blog about my frustrations instead. ;p

5. Short shirts. If it is meant to be a cropped top (aka a “belly shirt”) is one thing, but “normal” tops and t shirts should never, ever be so short that raising one’s arms causes the shirt to rise high enough that their stomach is exposed. This is one more reason I like wearing men’s shirts. They may not be too flattering but at least the sleeves fit and they are long enough that I never have to worry about exposing my belly when I don’t mean to. And ya know, unless I am changing clothes, taking a shower, or enjoying some x rated time with the man, my belly is never something I want exposed.

6. Store bought socks. I think my foot size is fairly average and yet I have so much trouble finding socks that fit well. It’s not like they come in a lot of sizes, and you can’t try them on before buying them like you can try on other garments. If I buy the size I should need based on the shoe sizes they are supposed to match up with, they are generally too big. The heel comes up to my ankle, the toe is not snug enough. But if I get the next smaller size available (because socks are a rather stretchy garment, it can work sometimes) they can be too small and tight around my ankles, but they fit great in all other aspects. I’ve not yet mastered knitting my own socks but I intend to, so I can have socks that fit just right.

7. The fact that you can’t get sample sizes of various food products. Do you have any idea how many new foods I don’t ever try simply because I don’t want to buy a full size package in the event that I don’t like it and it winds up both wasted money and food? I am not saying I want to get a free sample of anything that strikes my fancy. Although that would be fantastic. I am saying for a reasonable price I would buy single/2-serving sample size packs of new things. This way if I find I don’t like it, it isn’t a big deal. If I do like it, I will absolutely go buy the full size package. But I am not spending $5 on a box of cereal (for example) no matter how good it looks when I don’t know for sure if I will like it. (Special K Chocolatey Delight, you were so not as yummy as I hoped you would be… picking out all those pieces of chocolate to make them and the cereal edible separately from one another wasn’t exactly fun either.)

8. Brussels sprouts. ‘Nuff said.

9. Having to cough or sneeze in public. I don’t like drawing attention to myself and those tend to do just that.

10. When strangers invade my personal space. I have kind of gotten used to it. As a redhead I have had to because the color of my hair along with the fact that more often than not I keep my hair very long just makes some people… well… creepy. I have had so many strangers, both men and women, ask to touch my hair over the years. And I have had more than one incident when they have simply done it without asking. So I am used to it. But I still hate it when strangers get too close to me, for any reason, whether it involves my hair or not.

10 things I love:

1. The way Rascal snuggles up to me when she sleeps. She is such a cuddly, loving little dog.

2. Books. The smell of a new book. And even better than that is the smell of an old (well cared for) book. As much as I love my nook, it just can’t duplicate that smell, or the feeling and sound of turning the pages of a print book. Yeah. Books are awesome.

3. The way I feel when he wraps his arms around me. The whole world just disappears, everything is right again no matter what was wrong or how stressed I was. He can fix anything just by holding me.

4. The sound of his voice. My name sounds so different on his lips than anyone else’s. I could listen to him talk all day and be totally happy, regardless of the topics. He could read off ingredient lists to me and I would still be hanging on every word.

5. The way the house smells when there are clothes in the dryer. That “fresh laundry” smell is one of the best things in the world, to me.

6. Being able to subtract forty pounds from what the scale says to account for my boobs. My weight is still higher than I would like it to be, but with the deduction of the approximate weight of my very abundant breastage, it isn’t so bad after all. πŸ˜‰

7. Purple ink pens. Any time I have to write I prefer to use purple ink. It always gets on my nerves when I have to use blue or black ink for something (checks, legal documents). Purple is so much prettier.

8. These “multi-wear head wraps”. There aren’t enough words to adequately express my delight with these things!

9. Sweet tea. Honest to goodness why do we ever drink anything else?

10. Pizza. ‘Nuff said. πŸ˜‰





1 thought on “10 Things I Hate/Love, Second Edition”

  1. That’s quite the list of likes and dislikes, sweetness. πŸ˜€ On the dislike list, I definitely agree with you about the leggings. Man, it’s awful to see that… πŸ˜› On the likes list, I’m with you about the fresh laundry smell. There’s nothing like it. β™₯ β™₯ β™₯

    I have subscribed to you a few times over the past few years, but I never seem to get any email notices. So, I’ve subscribed to you again by following you. Here’s hoping I can keep up much more often with you!

    I sent you an invite to a new, private blog. You may have received it and dumped it in your spam folder; I’m not sure. Please email me, okay? I’ll give you the details that way. There are others who track me. You know what I mean…

    Sending you lots of love, hugs, and good energies, sweetness. Always!
    β™₯ β™₯ β™₯ β™₯ β™₯

Leave a Reply

