Blogging For Books

Book Review

Monstrously Funny Cartoons by Christopher Hart

image

I am not much of an artist, though I often wish I were. I can do OK with step by step character instructions, which is what this book offers.

The author includes humorous notes throughout the book, so the written text is every bit as amusing as the characters he teaches you to draw.

There are several chapters of characters to choose from: Zombie Mania, Vampires: Narcissists Of The Underworld, Monsters That Go Bump In The Night, Cartoon Aliens, Mad For Mummies, Legendary Monsters, The Weird And The Bizarre, and Monstrously Funny Layouts.

This is your standard how to draw book, which shows you in simplified steps how to start with basic shapes then gradually add to and alter them to get to the finished character. There are tips thrown in for things like proportions and symmetry.

I love that the characters are on the silly end of the spectrum not the gory end. I am not a fan of horror in any way, so the characters shown in Monstrously Funny are much more my speed when it comes to the kind of “scary” I like to see. (Yeah I am a wimp when it comes to this stuff.)

I really like several of the characters and am looking forward to trying my hand at drawing them. I have already tackled one. It is not perfect by any means but if this book can help even artistically challenged me create a somewhat decent drawing, then it is a successful how to draw book!

image

You can read more about this book here: Monstrously Funny Cartoons

I received this book from Blogging For Books for this review.

1 thought on “Book Review”

Leave a Reply

