Melting Pot

Dear Clothing Manufacturers

Please stop making sleeves that are proportionally too small for the rest of the garment. I am so sick of buying shirts I can’t wear because the sleeves are too tight, or of wanting to buy shirts but not being able to for the same reason. You do the same thing to jackets, hoodies, and coats as well and it is irritating as hell.

I had every intention of buying a new coat recently. Thankfully coats are one thing I do not mind trying on before buying because it is as easy as taking it off the hanger and slipping it on, no need to go to the changing rooms. I grabbed the coat of my choice in my usual size. The sleeves were way too tight. I didn’t even bother slipping my arm all the way into the sleeve. I tried the next size up and the sleeves were scarcely any larger. I tried the next size up, which was the largest size I saw on the rack, and while it was way too big in every other way, the sleeves were still too damned tight! I selected another style and had the same experience. I am a plus sized woman. Granted i am on the smaller end of plus size, but plus size nonetheless. Honest to God – the rest of me is fat so why the fuck do you seem to think my arms are skinny? News flash – they are not!

My sister, sister-in-law, and several friends also share this problem. So clearly it is not just me being a freak – it is whatever genius sizes the clothing is delusional.

I am convinced this issue is why so many plus sized women (myself included) wear sleeveless shirts layered with shawls, wraps, shrugs, whatever they can find to layer. We can’t find anything else that fits our arms. Our other option, which I personally use a lot, is to just wear men’s clothes. They might not be too flattering but at least the arms are not meant to fit Barbie.

I really, really need to learn to sew so that I can just make my own clothes. This off the rack nonsense gives me a headache.

1 thought on “Dear Clothing Manufacturers”

  1. OMG Thank you for this post! I can’t tell you how many times I have run into EXACTLY the same problem! It’s getting so ridiculous that I rarely ever bother trying to buy anything new, anymore, because it will fit in every way… except for the sleeves. Why do the clothing manufacturers do that, anyway? What on earth are they thinking?

    I’m sorry I haven’t been around, sweetness. I’ve been pretty sick, recently, and trying to recover, so I haven’t really been anywhere, much, except in my bed or on my couch, sleeping. But, I’m feeling a bit better today, so I’m going around trying to catch up with everyone, including you.

    Lots of love, hugs, and good energies comin’ your way, sweet friend!
    ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Leave a Reply

