Baking · In The Kitchen

The Pioneer Woman’s Best Coffee Cake. Ever.

I recently tried Ree Drummond’s (aka The Pioneer Woman) “Best Coffee Cake. Ever.” Recipe. I love cinnamon so coffee cake is one of my favorite treats.

I have to start by saying I didn’t follow the recipe precisely. Normally I will not review a recipe if I didn’t follow it exactly as written, because I see that as reviewing something the recipe is not. But this one is going to be an exception. I will explain why in a minute but I wanted to be clear on this first and also on the fact that I do not feel what I did differently made a big enough difference to affect the overall results.

You will have to visit Ree’s blog for the full recipe of course, but I will give you the basic run down.

The recipe involves creaming butter and sugar together, alternately adding dry ingredients that have been sifted together with milk, then folding in stiffly beaten egg whites. You spread the mixture in your pan, layer it with the topping, bake, and serve it warm.

What I did differently: The recipe uses only egg whites. I hate to be wasteful, and had no other immediate use for the yolks. So, after creaming the butter anad sugar, and whipped in the egg yolks. I then proceeded with the recipe as written.

My softened butter for the topping mixture may have been (absolutely was, and I knew it at the time but went with it anyway) a bit too soft – yes, that is possible – so my topping did not turn out quite right. I could – should – have added some extra flour to compensate but I didn’t bother. It still turned out super delicious.

Ree says to bake this pan in a 9*13 pan “or larger”. I was looking for an excuse to use my 12*18 sheet pan, so that was what I used. I would not recommend using a pan larger than this unless you double the recipe. In the 12*18 pan it baked up to about an inch thick. Too thin for my preferences really but not too thin as to be a mistake either. It did bake up in about 20 minutes, without the need for a heating core as you normally need with sheet pans. If doubling the recipe to fit this size pan and yield a thicker cake, I would use a heating core to ensure even baking.

The cake itself was absolute perfection! It was moist and tender and melt-in-your-mouth scrumptious. The topping mixture was just sweet enough without being too sweet, and had just the right amount of cinnamon for my tastes. I will say if you are not quite as much a fan of cinnamon and want a more subtle touch of cinnamon flavor you might consider halving the amount of cinnamon in the topping.

I cut the cake into individual servings and wrapped up 3/4 of them and popped them in the freezer. The remaining servings left out for immediate enjoyment were devoured within two days. I am thinking it won’t be long before I make this recioe again, but will double it for my 12*18 pan. I will be a very happy camper with a nice stock of slices of this cake in the freezer ready for me whenever the craving strikes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

