Melting Pot

Randoms

I really am old. I was talking to a friend the other day and the words “kids these days” actually passed my lips.

I have also apparently reached the age when fix-ups are inevitable. Heaven forbid a woman stay single beyond a certain age right?  It started with one of my aunts and then a couple cousins. Now my mom and sister are getting in on it too. Truthfully I don’t mind it so terribly much. I know their hearts are in the right place. And I do want to find somebody to settle down with. It sucks being alone. But my heart still belongs to somebody else. Somebody I can’t call mine. I know I need to let go and move on. But it is so much easier said than done. There is also the fact that right now I have an awful lot on my plate that I need to figure out for myself. I am not sure there is room for a romantic relationship right now. Even so, I have agreed to meet someone my mom and sister are excited for me to meet. My sister is particularly excited and already basically has me married off to him. I tried to tell her not to get overly excited but it was no use. I have every intention of doing my best to go into the meeting with only friendship in mind. Should God have other plans so be it – but I refuse to let my guard down right now. Again, I am still completely in love with someone else anyway. I can’t change that. Believe me I have tried.

I have started work again on a knitted sweater I started about a year ago. I had made a huge mistake in reading the pattern and had to rip out a lot of work, and never picked it back up after that. I finally decided to give it another try. I immediately caught myself making the same mistake and had to rip it out yet again. I have re-started the piece for the third time, and am hoping this time I will not mess up. The pattern is not very clear, and is a little hard to follow on the part I am working on. But it is not too bad, once you figure out what you are supposed to do. I am hoping to finish the sweater before winter. I probably won’t, but that is the goal.

I need to clean out my closet this week. While looking for something to wear today I realized I have very little that I still like or that even still fits. It will be terribly empty when I am done, but there is no sense holding on to things if they don’t fit or I don’t like them anymore. My style has changed, and hopefully I will have a chance to get some new things soon that are more my speed now.

I am watching one of my dad’s favorite tv shows with him tonight: The Three Stooges. I had bought him a DVD set for some occasion a couple years ago. It might have been his birthday, or maybe Father’s Day. It is not a full set with every episode, I don’t think anyway, but there are quite a few. I will have to check online to find out if there are others he will need to complete the collection. I used to watch it with him when I was little. He also has a DVD set with all the John Wayne movies, which we also used to watch together when I was little. I want to find The Rockford Files on DVD for him too if I can. Yep you guessed it, that is another one I would watch with him when I was a kid.

It is nearing my bed time so I suppose I am off. Until next time, y’all.

4 thoughts on “Randoms

  1. I think that you know what’s best for you, sweetness, and if you feel like you’re not ready for any kind of romantic relationship with anyone right now, then that’s where you’re at. It’s sweet that your mom and sister want to help you, but in the end, if *you* aren’t feeling it, it’s not going to go anywhere. Besides, there’s nothing wrong with a woman choosing to be single. It’s men who decide that women can’t take care of themselves – that misconception goes back thousands of years; they just haven’t accepted the truth yet, is all. You know?

    Anyway, my friend, do what you feel is right for you and don’t worry about what anyone else might think.

    Love to you!
    ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

  2. Hello, sweetness. Just wanted to come by and let you know I’m thinking about you and hoping you’re doing okay. I know you have a lot on your life plate that you’re dealing with, and I just wanted to let you know that you are always in my thoughts, and that I am always sending you lots of love, hugs, and good energies. Be well, sweetheart, and try to keep in mind that everything is unfolding in the universe exactly as it’s supposed to… Love you, sweet friend…
    ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

  3. Just dropping in to let you know I’m sending you lots of love, hugs, and good energies, sweetness… Love you…
    ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

  4. Where are you, my friend? Are you okay? What’s happening? Have you moved back home and things are all over the place and up in the air now? I hope you are well, sweetness. I am becoming very worried…

    Sending you much love, many hugs, and lots of good energies, sweet friend…
    ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Leave a Reply

