Melting Pot

Pet Names

I thought that for today’s post I would share how my pets got their names.

I’ll start with Sydney, as she’s the only one who I actually didn’t name.

Sydney
Sydney was named after a hockey player. If you are at all into hockey you probably already figured this one out: Sidney Crosby. Granted kitty is a girl and the spelling was changed a bit, but that’s where her name came from. My brother and his (then) girlfriend (now wife) were responsible for her name. Unfortunately they were not responsible pet owners and long story short I took the kitty while they were on their honeymoon and she just never went back. Her name seems to suit her, so it stuck.

Next is my little man, Dusk.

Dusk
When Dusk was a kitten, his coat was all black except one tiny patch of white under his chin. In contemplating his name, I knew most people would probably opt for Midnight. That was far too normal for my tastes though. I took a play on the time of day aspect, and decided to call him Dusk. Maybe a little weird, but I like it and I think it fits him quite well. He’s a grumpy old dude at this point, turning 14 next month. He lets that grumpy out in vicious ways at times, but (knock on wood) he is still generally a cuddly, loving little fellow. If he knows you. If you’re a stranger, he’ll attack you. I am not kidding. He’s an attack cat. He has never liked strangers in his territory but as he’s gotten older he’s gotten even less tolerant. He WILL attack any strangers who might enter the house.

And of course, my little Rascal girl.

Rascal
Rascal was named after my favorite band/musical group. Oh do I really have to spell it out? I guess some of you might be new here so I guess so…. Rascal Flatts! The name fits her very well, too, because her attitude is 100% rascal.

And I must give an honorable mention to my past pooches. Misty, my childhood dog (who I don’t have a picture of to share) was named by my mom. Not a clue how she came up with it, but I liked it a lot for that little one.

And, my sweet Jenna.

Jenna
Jenna got her name from one of my favorite movies when I was a kid: Balto. I loved that movie, and it solidified my already existent desire for a Husky. I knew if I ever had a Husky, it would be named Balto if male and Jenna if female. Once I got a bit older, I decided I’d like a Beagle. I was ready for a new pup about a year after losing Misty, and couldn’t decide if I wanted a Husky or a Beagle more. God smiled and gave me Jenna: she was born to a Beagle momma and a Husky daddy. I decided to keep the Husky name inspiration of Jenna. It fit her well. It was a beautiful name, for a beautiful dog. I miss her…

One thought on “Pet Names

  1. That’s really cool, Leah. I enjoyed reading about how your animal companions got their names. What a great post!

    With the exception of my birds (named by my dad and stepmother) and my first dog (named because of how she moved when she walked), I’ve never actually given my animals their names. As a matter of fact, I haven’t named an animal since I had my first dog, back when I was nine. Instead, animals tell me what their names are, and they won’t respond to any other name. It sounds crazy, I know, but it’s the truth. And now you’ve got me thinking about writing a post similar to this one – brat. LOL 😀

    Sending you lots of love, hugs, and good energies, sweetness. Hope you have a great week!
    ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Leave a Reply

