Blogging For Books

Book Review

Cloak of the Light by Chuck Black

Cloak of the Light by Chuck Black cover
Synopsis from Waterbrook Multnomah:

Drew is caught in a world of light – just inches away from the dark

What if…there was a world beyond our vision, a world just fingertips beyond our reach? What if…our world wasn’t beyond their influence?

Tragedy and heartache seem to be waiting for Drew Carter at every turn, but college offers Drew a chance to start over—until an accident during a physics experiment leaves him blind and his genius friend, Benjamin Berg, missing.

As his sight miraculously returns, Drew discovers that the accident has heightened his neuron activity, giving him skills and sight beyond the normal man. When he begins to observe fierce invaders that no one else can see, he questions his own sanity, and so do others. But is he insane or do the invaders truly exist?

With help from Sydney Carlyle, a mysterious and elusive girl who offers encouragement through her faith, Drew searches for his missing friend, Ben, who seems to hold the key to unlocking this mystery. As the dark invaders close in, will he find the truth in time?

My thoughts:

When I selected this book, I really wasn’t sure if I would enjoy it or not. I’d never read any of Chuck Black’s work, and it is far from the genres I would normally pick. But the story intrigued me, and I felt drawn to it. I have got to tell you, my only regret about choosing this book is that it’s the first in a trilogy and now I have to wait for the next installment! I enjoyed this book immensely. I simply could not put it down! I finished it less than 24 hours after reading the first words.

The first few chapters build the story, introducing the main character, Drew, and detailing some major events that impact his life. He seems to be cursed, experiencing a number of tragic events from a young age and into adulthood. His best friend, Ben, requests his help with a physics experiment. Unfortunately there is an accident in the lab during the experiment that leaves Drew blind, and Ben goes missing.

Despite the doctors saying the damage is permanent, he experiences a full recovery. With his restored vision, however, Drew can also now see things that others can’t. Suddenly he is able to see malevolent beings, which he calls invaders, influencing humanity in the worst of ways. He sets out to find Ben, knowing that Ben is the only one who can help him unravel the mystery of the invaders and expose them to the world.

The story really held my attention and kept me wanting more. It ends with a cliffhanger, as is expected from a book that is part of a series. I am very much looking forward to the next installment so I can find out what happens next!

Note that this is a Christian book, so there is a fairly strong religious tone to the story – if you’re not a fan of that, you might consider skipping this book.I did not find it to be too much or anything off-putting by any means.

Cloak of the Light is available for pre-order via Waterbrook Multnomah and Barnes & Noble & is set to be released on March 18th, 2014.

You can visit Chuck Black’s web site to learn more about him & his other books at  perfect-praise.com

I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

Leave a Reply

