Cake Decorating · In The Kitchen · Melting Pot

*Insert Witty Post Title Here*

I’ve been trying to come up with a good post title, and entertaining post content, all week. But I’ve got zilch.

IMG_3403

Yep. I am another year older today. These are the cards I got in the mail; from my mom, grandma, and sister. No, I don’t tend to get a lot of cards. But that’s fine with me for numerous reasons but mostly because the ones that I do get are so special.

You know there is cake. Cake that was a royal pain in the ass to make. (Ha! That rhymed…) I ran into a lot of problems with this, which led to coming up with a last-minute plan B design. Plan B also included an unbelievable headache, some cursing, a lot of frustration, and at one point some tears. When I went to bed last night (which was technically this morning, because it was after midnight) I was too exhausted to know if I was happy with how the cake turned out or not. I was leaning more toward not. Today I can say that yes, I’m happy with it. It’s not at all what I had planned, and it is far from perfect… but I think it’s nice.

This birthday present from my dad arrived today, as well.

new camera

I’ve not had a chance to try it out yet, as the battery needs charged first. I keep peeking over at the charger to see if it’s finished charging yet but it hasn’t. I don’t expect it to for a while. But once it does I will definitely be testing it out and learning my way around the different settings and features! It even shoots HD video. Not that I am all that into making videos. But if the quality really is there maybe I’ll get into it just a little. If nothing else it will certainly come in handy when my sister emails me needing me to show her how to do various things in crochet. Such things are easier to teach when you can show someone what to do rather than try to tell them in words what to do. But back to the camera; it’s pink (bonus! I’m such a girly girl sometimes.) and it’s Canon and I love it already despite the fact I’ve not even turned it on yet. I’m a total Canon girl – the couple cameras I have used over the years from other brands have mostly been ok but I really prefer Canon.

I will be giving my old point & shoot to my dad. It’s still functional, I just hate it. LOL Seriously, I got it because I really needed a camera at the time and it was cheap and I thought it would do what I needed it to do. I was wrong. It will be suitable for my dad, I think, as his camera needs are very different from mine. The video function no longer works – it will record and play back on the camera fine but something goes haywire in transferring them to the computer and they won’t play on the computer. But other than that it’s functional. And it happens to be red, which is his favorite color. And it is, among all other things, the camera that has convinced me to never ever stray from Canon ever again. It’s a Fujifilm camera and I loathe it. I’ve wanted a new camera pretty much since the day I got it. But again, my camera needs are different from my dad’s, and I think once he learns to use it he will be happy with it. He’ll miss the video option (which I will continue to try to figure out how to fix, if possible, for him) but he likes taking pictures of his grandkids and at various family gatherings. He has only had his cell phone for that for a long, long time. I know he will be happy to have a real camera instead.

I’m off. I’ve a birthday meal to prepare in a little while. I decided for my special birthday meal I want some sweet & sour chicken and fried rice. I’m using a recipe from Life In The Lofthouse for the chicken; if you don’t know how to make fried rice a recipe has been included in that post as well. I have made fried rice for J enough times I just kinda throw it together now, without measuring. I am changing my cooking method on the chicken just a touch (which I’ve done before) and won’t be baking it – stove-top all the way. Still super yum either way, and my go-to recipe for sweet & sour chicken. I recommend you try it. =)

Notice the stealthy lack of any mention of my age anywhere on my cake or in this post.
I’m still coming to terms with the new number. 

Leave a Reply

