Melting Pot

Lingering

A migraine from hell decided to attack me yesterday out of nowhere, and I wound up spending much of the day sleeping. My hope was to be able to sleep it off. I still have a slight, lingering headache tonight but I feel loads better so I’m not going to complain.

Recently I made a new header for this blog. Not sure if y’all noticed it or not, but I’m fairly pleased with it. Y’all know I am very anti-photoshop/digital photo editing, in terms of how it’s most commonly used. (IE – making already perfectly attractive men and women unrealistically “perfect” to the point of not even looking human anymore in ads/print, “fixing” poorly executed photos with dozens of filters, “touching up” portraits with unrealistic, doll-like “enhancements” etc.) However, digital photo editing DOES have purpose and when used properly, I do think it’s a good tool to have at your disposal. I’m not all that great with photo editing, because I don’t do it often beyond simply re-sizing and adding my watermarks for sharing online. For my new header I did want to put a little photo stitching to use. I couldn’t quite figure out how to get the final look I wanted but, at least for the time being, I think it looks good enough that it works.

I also made a new header for my photography blog. I’m a lot happier with how that one turned out. Again, it just involved a little photo stitching. I knew exactly what I wanted to do for the header, but the image I wanted to use was not going to work as-is. It was a vertically oriented, close-up portrait. Obviously for a horizontal blog header, that isn’t going to work out very well! So, I chose another picture that would work well with it to give the look and feel I wanted for my photography blog’s header.

header how to

The green gloves mentioned in the previous post have been finished, and I’ve started the striped pair. A couple times. I keep running into trouble with it and have had to restart a couple times. Nothing wrong with the pattern – but I just keep making silly errors. It’s gotten quite chilly, though, and I know I need to get them finished up asap so I can get them to the girls before it’s really cold. Being a bit further north they will need them soon, so I am just doing my best.

I’ve got several crochet projects in mind that I’d LOVE to get started on. But I am forcing myself to wait to start any other projects until these gloves are finished. Hopefully I can make some good progress in the next couple of days and stop making silly mistakes with it.

One thought on “Lingering

  1. I noticed your new header, Leah. And I think it’s _*beautiful*_ work. Photo-stitching is very tricky business. You have to get the marks exactly where you want them for the image to blend properly when it’s “stitched”. I’ve done it a few times, and it took me HOURS to get it right. I ended up giving up on it, and haven’t tried it since. LOL

    Your photography-blog header looks awesome, too, sweetness. You’ve done a phenomenal job with it. 🙂 I agree with you about being anti-PhotoShop, and with how unrealistic and unrecognizable it makes people. I especially dislike it with nature photos; nature is already perfect, right? It’s the photographer who isn’t. I don’t ever do anything to my photos except resize them and maybe increase the “brightness” factor if it seems too dark. Aside from that, I don’t touch them. I see no reason to. If they look dull, that’s my fault, not the subject’s. I know you know what I mean.

    I hope you feel better today, my friend. I know how nasty migraines can be, and my heart goes out to you. Sending you lots of love, many hugs, and tons of good energies…
    ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Leave a Reply

