Melting Pot

Of Clumsiness & Inspiration

I find it unbelievable, sometimes, that I used to figure skate. To know me well now means you know I’m an incredibly gifted klutz. I can and do trip over absolutely nothing on a fairly regular basis, among dozens of other random klutzy things. So when I think back to my days on the ice I must wonder, where on earth did my sense of coordination go? It seems I packed it away with the skates years ago. Except a couple times when I was 7-8 and just learning to skate, I NEVER fell when I was skating. Granted I never did work up to doing anything more than some basic single toe loops and salchows, but you know… the point is I never fell. These days, however, I have near daily moments of extraordinary gracefulness accompanied by cursing, the volume of which depends on just how much pain was inflicted during the display.

Yesterday was one such day. We were recently finally able to move our sleeping quarters to the second bedroom, which meant that the walls and ceiling in the master bedroom could finally start to come down. Thankfully for me J was willing (sort of) to do the really dirty work of tearing the stuff down, and my job is the clean-up that follows. Neither is fun, but between the two the clean-up is definitely the preferred and “easier” part because it doesn’t involve having all sorts of nasty stuff raining down on you while you work. So I was cleaning up the enormous mess, bagging up old drywall, bits of insulation, and I don’t even want to think about what all was mixed in among the dust and debris. I had decided I was going to finish my task while there was still daylight coming through the windows. I just prefer to work with daylight when it comes to cleaning – I can see better and especially when there is the potential for running into creepy crawlies, I’d really like to be able to see what I’m doing. I decided part of accomplishing this was going to be to line up the filled trash bags by the door in the kitchen to carry them out later once I was finished cleaning up the mess, rather than going out and in every few minutes to carry another bag out one at a time as they were filled. You already see where this is going, don’t you?

On one of my trips (ha! see what I did there?) to the kitchen to deposit the latest trash bag… I tripped over one of the previously deposited bags. I don’t mean just a little “oops” kinda trip where you simply stumble but keep going like nothing had happened. Oh no. This was a big, nearly didn’t catch myself and almost wound up totally falling to the floor trip. It hurt when it happened, but, determined as I was to finish my part of the job, I shook my head at myself and just kept going.

The pain didn’t really set in till well over an hour later once I was finally done with the clean-up and I had showered and slowed down for the rest of the day. And I spent the rest of the night icing my ankle, cursing every time I had to get up to do anything, and hobbling slowly more than walking when it was necessary to do so. It still hurts today though not quite as badly. Bad enough I would like to avoid walking as much as possible. The best part? There are still more walls to come down, which naturally means there will be more mess to clean up again this weekend. But, that’s the last room where that kind of work needs done. So, once we get that out of the way… I’ll be happy. And again, I’m not the one doing the really dirty part of tearing stuff down, so I’m not going to complain. I had that job in the second bedroom and did not like it one bit…

The silver lining to having a sore ankle? It gave me some inspiration for today’s photo for The Idea Room’s October photo a day challenge. J contributed to the idea as well. You can click here to see today’s photo on the photography blog, if you’re interested.

One thought on “Of Clumsiness & Inspiration

  1. ROFLMAO Leah!!! I’m sorry, sweetie, but I can’t help myself! The way you’ve described your graceful falls and twists and turns made me laugh SO hard! I’m sad that you got hurt, though; I’m sending you lots of healing energies to help you out with that. And I’m also sending you tons of love and hugs just because…

    ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Leave a Reply

