Melting Pot

Wishful Thinking

le3bd5344-m0x

I just fell in love with this house. Big time. It isn’t in the country, which is about it’s only flaw. But I know the area it is in, and while a bit more populated than I would prefer it is suitably quiet. It has the required fenced in yard for my pooch, though that fence looks like it needs replaced with something better. And higher. Something tells me Rascal could jump that in a heartbeat if she wanted to. But I mean… I’m looking over the details and the pictures of the inside… oh, want… want so very much! I don’t suppose anyone has $70,000 they don’t need? No? It’s ok. I didn’t think so. But it never hurts to ask right? lol

Kidding aside I truly am very drawn to this house. Like a moth to a flame. I can see myself there. It never hurts to send positive thoughts into the universe about what you want I guess. But, I’m sorry… I do not buy into that whole “the secret” thing where all you have to do to get what you want in life is visualize it. Seriously? If that worked, we’d be in major trouble. Think about it. How many times, in the heat of the moment in an argument or some other negative situation, have you visualized some fantastically morbid scene for the person pissing you off? If all it took to make it happen was visualizing it… I think the human race would be swiftly eliminated. But if you want to go for the “it only works for positive things” route… again, if it were really that simple, there’d be no poverty in the world, no illness, it’d be nothing but sunshine and rainbows minus the rain. It is a nice idea but life doesn’t work that way.

I think I am a good example that visualizing doesn’t make things happen. I visualize a husband and kids every day of my life. And I have for years. And as of the this moment I am heartbreakingly single and (sometimes thankfully) childless.  Yeah that “see it in your mind and it will happen” stuff is bull. Sorry to burst your rosy little bubble folks. Life is more often than not unfair to the point of cruelty, and the most you can really hope for is contentment. Genuine happiness is a rare and fleeting thing. You can picture a happy life all you want in your mind… it’s not going to make your reality happy too.

But take my words with a grain of salt if you must. I am jaded and cynical about things so maybe my views are kind of skewed.

All that said… I will send a wish out to the universe to maybe somehow make that house my home. I don’t expect anything to come of it – I don’t expect anything, anymore – but it still never hurts to put a good thought for yourself out there once in a while, about the things you want. Even if it is pointless, in the end…

One thought on “Wishful Thinking

  1. It really is a gorgeous home, sweetness. Me LIKE! 🙂 It would make a wonderful home for a family, too; I mean, how could it not, right? It seems to have all the required elements – and it’s definitely big enough for a family. 🙂

    As for visualizing things, well, I think belief has a pretty large part to play in our ability to manifest or create what we most want. I think that if we put it out to the universe, but we don’t believe it will or can happen for us, we’re defeating ourselves right from the get-go. But that’s just my opinion. 🙂

    I’m really happy to see you posting, my friend. I’ve missed reading about how things are going for you. I really like posts like this that encourage discussion and the sharing of different perspectives and thoughts. 🙂

    Sending you tons of love and hugs, sweetness!
    ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Leave a Reply

