Melting Pot

Suicide Prevention Week

I am sharing this because I have lost someone I loved this way, and there is someone else in my life who I love an awful lot who I could lose this way as well if the “adults” in that person’s life do not wise up, grow up, and do what they have to do to help. I’ve voiced my concerns repeatedly, but have not been listened to and have even been told to mind my own business; I’ve done all I can and it is now out of my hands. I continue to hope that things will be ok but every day there is a knot in my stomach when I think of this person who needs help, and I fear getting another one of “those” phone calls…

Suicide is the 3rd leading cause of death for youth ages 10-24.

Suicide is the 2nd leading cause of death for college- age youth.

Suicide is the 4th leading cause of death for our youth ages 10-14.

Be able to identify a friend who may be hurting. Look for these warning signs in your friends:

Suicide threats

Depression

Anger, increased irritability

Lack of interest in activities they used to enjoy

Sudden increase/decrease in appetite

Sudden changes in appearance

Dwindling academic performance

Sudden failure to complete assignments

Preoccupation with death and suicide

An “I don’t care” attitude about school or other activities.

Previous suicide attempts

Final arrangements

See more at: http://b1.jasonfoundation.com/#sthash.cTnUXxMj.dpuf

Leave a Reply

