Melting Pot

On The VMA’s

OK. I was not going to bother saying anything about this but… I can’t help myself here. Just a warning – if you’ve got kiddos around who can read… you may want to wait till they are not around to read this one.

Everyone’s been up in arms about Miley Cyrus and her “performance” at the VMA’s.

I can understand why people would be unhappy. But is anyone really shocked? I mean, this is MTV we’re talking about. And Miley definitely has the classic Hollywood child star all grown up and going bad girl to prove it thing going on right now.  That is not news at this point, either. Britney did it. Christina did it. Lindsay Lohan. Amanda Bynes. The list goes on and on and on, and those are just a couple of the more recent examples.

HOWEVER.

Why is nobody upset about her co-performer Robin Thicke’s part in the night’s festivities?

Clearly anyone complaining only about Miley’s performance has no clue what the song Blurred Lines is about and has not seen the video for that song. Miley’s VMA performance with him was essentially a live version of the video, wherein Miley took the place of several girls who prance around the male “musicians” wearing nothing but skimpy underwear. Yes that’s right. Nude/flesh tone thongs, maybe some shoes, and that’s it. And they’re doing so in front of large letters on the wall spelling out “Robin Thicke has a big dick”. Uh huh. You heard me. Not to mention if you pay attention to the lyrics, which I realize is hard to do because these guys seem to prefer to mumble incoherently, you’d realize this song is incredibly offensive to women. It references RAPE (and attempts to JUSTIFY it) and drug use, and essentially says that women are merely sexual objects, and to be treated as such. Standard rap fare at the end of the day.  Oh and did I mention the (brief) bit of bestiality in the video?  *shudder*

And people are more concerned with Miley being in a tight, flesh tone bikini and dancing provocatively (er… trying to do that anyway…) around this guy while he performed this song? I’m seeing a major double standard here. Not that that’s new in the media.

I absolutely refuse to post the video here or even link it but all you need is Youtube if you’re so inclined. I am no prude, and this blog is certainly not always 100% “family friendly”, but I have standards.

I will however provide some of the lyrics merely as a means of showing that this song, if you can call it a song, is completely disgusting. And that’s being nice about it.

OK now he was close, tried to domesticate you
But you’re an animal, baby, it’s in your nature
Just let me liberate you
You don’t need no papers

You the hottest bitch in this place
You wanna hug me
What rhymes with hug me?

Nothing like your last guy, he too square for you
He don’t smack that ass and pull your hair like that
So I just watch and wait for you to salute

Talk about getting blasted
I hate these blurred lines
I know you want it
But you’re a good girl
The way you grab me
Must wanna get nasty
Go ahead, get at me

I love music, and I love many genres. I can go from jazz to classical to country to alternative to r&b and pretty much everything inbetween in a single day and be totally happy. But this sort of stuff is common to rap. As such rap is one genre I simply cannot stand. To each their own. If you like it, that’s your right. But it is my right to find a genre so over-loaded with lyrics that advocate drug use, rape, and abuse sickening. Yes such references are made in other genres at times too but my point is that in other genres it tends to not be too common a theme. In rap, it’s pretty much all there is. And I do not like that.  At all.

Leave a Reply

