Melting Pot

Slim Kicker

I was contacted recently about a new fitness site/app, slimkicker.com. After taking a thorough look around the site, I decided to join, and I wanted to share it with you guys.

SlimKicker offers some great tools to help you track your fitness and, should it be a goal of yours, weight-loss  Having been on a serious mission to lose weight this year and doing some yo-yoing (that word looks so funny doesn’t it?) with it along the way, I am at a point where any tool or site that might help get me back on track and KEEP me on track is worth trying. I’ve used Spark People in the past but I never use it consistently. It’s more of a chore to use that site than anything else, really. SlimKicker is similar in ways – you log in and track your meals and exercises, and there are various groups you can join based on location, common goals or interests etc.

But SlimKicker takes things a bit further. They have a points system that basically turns your efforts into a game of sorts, and when you level up you treat yourself to a reward. You choose what reward you want and at what level you will get that reward. It can be anything you want. A “cheat meal”, a new outfit, an ipod, girl’s/guy’s night out with your friends… whatever. You earn points by making healthy food choices and exercising. You also earn points by participating in challenges. There are challenges for everybody, and if you are not able to find a challenge that suits you, you can create your own.

The site’s very easy to navigate and user-friendly. I really like the challenges. I love that you can start a new challenge at any time, and you can do more than one challenge at a time if you want. Choosing rewards for yourself is fun too – just be sure you make them good ones and that they’re things that you really want that you’ll work for. If it’s something that will require some money (like an ipad or a weekend vacation) consider getting a jar (preferably a clear one so you can look at it and SEE your funds adding up!) to drop spare change into to save up for that reward. But beyond that, come up with a system that you can pair up with SlimKicker’s tools to put money into that jar toward your reward. For example, for every challenge you complete, $5 goes into the jar.

Oh, and the best part? SlimKicker is FREE.

Yep. 100% free.

I’m just getting started with it but so far I really like it a lot. You can go to my SlimKicker profile by clicking here.

I’ve put “new workout shoes” on my shopping list for this week. The puppy shredded my old ones last week. I’m looking forward to getting some new ones, but till I get to the store I’ll make due with my converse. =)

My input on SlimKicker was requested, however I have not been paid or otherwise reimbursed to join the site or for this blog post. All opinions are my own. Please bear in mind that I am sharing my thoughts as an average person – I am not a healthcare professional nor am I a fitness expert. You should always speak with your doctor if you have concerns or questions about your health/fitness.

2 thoughts on “Slim Kicker

  1. You know, one of the things I most admire about you, my sweet friend, is your determination. You don’t ever seem to actually give up on things; rather, you keep the core goal and find other ways to work towards achieving it. I think that is just amazing, and I admire the hell out of you for it. YOU GO, GIRL! 🙂

    1. Thank you Holly! I am nothing if not stubborn. LOL I don’t know if it’s a redhead thing or if it is something that runs in my family (we’re all quite stubborn!) or what. All I know is I’m stubborn. It may take me a while, the path may change from time to time, but I definitely do everything I can possibly do to make things happen when I want them. =)

Leave a Reply

