In The Kitchen · Recipes

Not Your Mama’s Hot Chocolate

Pardon the lame post title. I was trying to be clever. I’m a dork, I know.

I came across this recipe on Pinterest. I should know better than to browse the food and drink category on there. It always makes me hungry. And with all the tasty looking drink recipes I find and repin I probably look like a raging alcoholic. lol But I do not try those often; to date I have only tried one of the alcoholic drink recipes I have found through Pinterest. And there are occasionally some non-alcoholic drink recipes to be found there too. Like this little gem, for example:

Yeah, I drink from mason jars. You got a problem with that?

White hot chocolate.

Oh yes.

I love chocolate in all it’s forms, but white chocolate is a particular favorite. I know, I know. Technically it’s not chocolate. I don’t care. It’s yummy. As is this drink!

The recipe is very simple. There are just two ingredients. It doesn’t get much easier than that.

1-3/4 cup milk, divided
1/2 cup white chocolate chips

Pour 1/4 cup milk into a small sauce pan and add the chocolate chips. Whisk constantly over medium heat till the chocolate has melted. Stir in the remaining milk and heat till steaming, stirring occasionally.

Voila. Top with some whipped cream and garnish with sprinkles and/or colored sugar if desired.

(Check out the original source – as far as I am aware – by clicking right here.)

But you know me. If I think a recipe might need a tweak or two… I do it.

I added a smidgen of vanilla powder. Really. A smidgen. It’s a measurement. As is a pinch, a dash…

I love my little measuring spoons.

I also love vanilla powder. The only place I have found in my area that sells it is the local farm market. Which is fine because I feel confident it’s much cheaper buying from them than it would be anywhere else. And it’s PURE vanilla powder. According to my searches online, some manufacturers will add “fillers” to their vanilla powder which affects the taste. But not this stuff. It’s so GOOD! A little goes a long way. I just love it.



If you don’t have vanilla powder, you could use vanilla extract instead. 1/4 of a teaspoon at most should do it. Use the good stuff if you can, not imitation vanilla extract. But if that’s all you have, it’s better than nothing.

I also added a tiny bit of salt. I didn’t measure it; I just got the salt shaker and put some salt in the palm of my hand and put a tiny little pinch in. You might be surprised at the difference just a tiny amount of salt can make in many things.

I finished my white hot chocolate off with whipped cream – you can’t have hot chocolate of any kind without whipped cream in my opinion. And to make it pretty for this post, I added some little heart sprinkles and a touch of edible glitter. This would be nice for Valentine’s Day don’t you think? Change up the sprinkles to suit any holiday or occasion. You could even tint the hot chocolate with a little food coloring if you wanted.

I like excuses to use sprinkles and edible glitter… don’t you?

2 thoughts on “Not Your Mama’s Hot Chocolate

  1. OMG Leah…. That looks absolutely scrumptious! My mouth is watering – seriously! I’m going to have to try that; both hubby and I enjoy a nice cup of cocoa on a cold winter’s day, especially after we’ve been outside, and that just looks like the perfect drink. 🙂 Thanks for sharing this, doll – and hey: thanks for accepting me at Facebook, too. 🙂 Luvs ya! ♥ ♥ ♥

    1. It is really good Holly! I wanted to drink all of it myself but I shared with my dad. lol

      I didn’t know it was you at first (on FB) but then I saw Glimmer’s picture. Can’t believe how big she is getting! =)

Leave a Reply

