Melting Pot

Cutting Corners

I’m sure y’all have noticed that I have not made mention of my nail polish line/online shop for a while. I had a lot of fun with some “personal experimenting” to learn the ropes of creating my own nail polish, and came up with some good basic guidelines I can use in regards to ideal formulations of colors. But I used up all my bottles and many of my other ingredients in the process. I had not been able to get many supplies in the first place, so it did not take long for me to use things up.

So I have been waiting and trying to save up to buy more supplies. Not easy at all, especially when adding in the fact that it’s time for holiday shopping now, my already limited income being stripped away to nothing… it’s been rough.

It has not helped that I have some very specific ideas of colors and collections I want to make, ingredients I want to use, what kind of bottles I want to use etc. I’ve got every detail in my head, and I just really wanted to be able to start out with all these images in my head being made real.

That is not going to happen.

I won’t lie, for a while I was giving some serious thought to just giving up and abandoning the dream completely. But I realized how ridiculous that would be. So I won’t be starting out with everything I wanted. Things won’t be done the way I intended or would prefer. But that doesn’t matter. What matters is that I need to get things underway. Then later on I can always “upgrade” to make things the way I want them.

Another hindrance has been my reluctance to ask for help getting started. I really wanted to do this on my own. No help from anyone in any way. I finally realized that wasn’t going to happen, given my current circumstances… and I caved in and asked my dad for help paying for some supplies to get me going.

Being the wonderful dad that he is, he ordered the supplies I need for me tonight. Granted I cut WAY back on my list (like, way way way back to almost nothing) and I really got the absolute minimum that I possibly could. Paired with some changes to my game plan to cut some corners and get the ball rolling as quickly as possible and for as little money as possible… I managed to get what I need for under $100.

Ok ok… one of the things I ordered I did not really NEED. But oh gosh I just had to have it. But I’m not saying what that was yet. You will have to wait to find out. It’s a good one though.

The company the supplies were ordered from currently has 3-5 day turnaround time. Pair that up with it being a weekend. It’s a rough estimate that I’ll have my supplies in about 2 weeks. It will not take me long to get some colors made and FINALLY open up shop after that.

While I’m waiting, I’ll be working on some other items for the shop. I am not going to sell nail polish exclusively. Oh no. I’m going to have some other fun little things too… but again, you’ll have to wait to find out what that will be. Nothing crazy – simple little things. But my point is that there will be things besides nail polish.

I’ve had to make big changes to my plans and the way I wanted to do things for my shop and my nail polish line. But with my new plan in place, hopefully things will start to come together.

2 thoughts on “Cutting Corners

  1. Good for you for sticking with it – and especially, for asking for help! I know that was a really hard thing for you to do, and I’m proud of you for doing it. Good luck with your endeavors, sweetness; I know that if you want something badly enough, you WILL make it happen. 🙂 ♥ ♥ ♥

Leave a Reply

