Crafts, Knitting

The Shawl From Hell: Completed (Sort Of)

I finished that blasted shawl today. In a way. I spent the last week trying desperately to get row one of the edging completed. But every single time I worked the first edging row, the center was off and I had more than a dozen stitches left at the end of the row. A person can only work 300+ stitches and undo them and work them again so many times before they’re about to lose their sanity over it. I tried seven or eight times. I counted, counted again, and counted yet again. I had the correct number of stitches before beginning the first edging row. I worked very slowly and carefully, checking the pattern every couple of stitches to be sure I was doing everything right. I locked all the animals out of my room, turned off the tv and my phone etc. so there were no distractions. Something is dreadfully wrong with this pattern. There are four other folks with completed shawls on Ravelry. I don’t know how on earth they managed the edging. A couple of them it looks initially like they may have used a different edging but after looking closer at their pictures it seems it’s just the way they blocked that makes them look different. But if other people could successfully finish the pattern then that makes it seem as if somewhere along the line I was messing up and it was not a pattern issue…. but I swear I was following that pattern to a T. Maybe the folks who finished it contacted the designer when they had issues and got help to finish it – but if that’s the case then corrections NEED to be noted on the pattern’s page. Seeing as there have been no further errata notes made…

SIGH. I don’t know. Whatever. I got pissed enough to just bind off and call the shawl complete, minus the edging. It’s still pretty. And now I have just over one ball of the yarn left over to make something else pretty with it. I’m going to be perpetually bothered by the fact that I could not get the edging going on this stupid shawl… but at least it’s done, even if it’s not “done”. And the needles are now free to be used for something else.

My next project is going to be another shawl. But a crocheted one. And it’s my own pattern that I’ve spent the past couple of days designing. It will be SO much easier than this thing was!

2 thoughts on “The Shawl From Hell: Completed (Sort Of)”

  1. Well, I can’t knit to save my life, so I can’t help you sort out the pattern issues. But Leah, that shawl looks BEAUTIFUL. It’s very obvious to me that you’ve put a lot of work into it; it looks very intricate and delicate, and I’m sure it’s going to serve you well for years to come. You did a fantastic job on it, my friend. Don’t let anyone try to tell you differently.

    Hugs,
    Holly

    1. Thanks Holly. It took me a little over two months to finish. It’s a nice size despite not having the (wide) edging on it. And I know nobody will ever know it’s supposed to have anything more done to it. My bff saw it today and loved it. I’m tempted to get some yarn to make one for her as her Christmas present, but I need to think about that a little more. I dunno. I’m kind of sick of knitting right now. Hence the new project being crochet instead. lol I’d also have to find just the right yarn, at a reasonable price. Always the hardest part of any knit or crochet project.

Leave a Reply

