Crafts

Dollar Store Lamp Makeover

Before. Plain old boring white lamps.

I’m trying hard to come up with some ways I can use up the glitter I bought that won’t work for it’s intended purpose. I have a LOT of glitter to use up. Tons of it. Holly suggested making ornaments for our Christmas/Yule tree, however the tree we have is ‘pre-decorated’ so I (unfortunately) have no need for ornaments. I wish I did though, as that would be a fun way to use up a lot of the glitter!

Recently we had to make a trip to the dollar store for some cards and gift bags, and while there I spotted a pretty lamp shade on the clearance table. I got it, not really thinking about needing a new lamp base to go with it. As I considered my options, I realized I had a good glittery project on my hands. We went back to the dollar store and picked up another shade since they only had one left and I kind of fell in love with the color – silvery grey – for it’s simplicity and neutrality to go with absolutely anything. And then I grabbed a couple bases to go with the shades. They were on clearance too, so this was as cheap a project as it could possibly be. (Total cost for the shades and bases together was $18.)

My original plan for these didn’t quite work out. I thought the easiest way to go about it would be double sided tape. Maybe it was a poor quality tape that I was using but I just could not get this idea to work. The tape didn’t want to stick to the lamps at all.

I gave up on that idea and instead used some painter’s tape to section off the portions of the lamp that I wanted to put glitter on. Given the curvy nature of the lamps, this meant cutting smaller pieces of the tape and having a bunch of little pieces around the lamp rather than just one longer piece of tape. This was the most time consuming part of the project, other than waiting for the glue to dry. Then I used a paint brush to paint on some clear craft glue, sprinkled on the glitter then removed the tape. I let the glue dry overnight, and the next and final step will be applying some spray on enamel to help seal the glitter on.

After: glittery goodness!

I am on a bit of a purple and grey kick right now when it comes to colors, so I used dark and light purple glitter as well as some silver and holographic silver.

I didn’t have anything specific in mind when I started. I thought I’d do more stripes of glitter than I did, but once I got this far I thought they looked rather perfect. Just enough sparkle to make them interesting and fun, but not so much that it’s over the top.

I considered adding some beads to the lamp shades, but I think paired with the glitter that would be too much. I am still thinking about adding some ribbon to the lamp shades though, I will test that out later today and see what I think. I have some pretty ribbon that might finish these off nicely, but I may decide that I like them just fine with the shades as they are. I’ll update this post with a picture of the lamps with the shades on them later once I coat the bases with enamel and it dries and I’ve figured out what I will be doing about the shades if anything.

As of right now I have no more ideas of how I can use up some of this glitter. I’m hoping to make a trip to the craft store soon, maybe being there will help me come up with some ideas.

ETA: I decided to add the ribbon to the shades. Unfortunately there wasn’t as much ribbon left on the spool as I thought, so I only had enough to go around the bottom of one shade. But that’s ok. I’ll get more this week to finish up; I’ll be adding ribbon to the top of the shade as well. The ribbon is perfect though. The width of it is half white and half transparent, and there’s a pretty iridescent strip down the middle. Really a perfect finishing touch to tie everything together. =)

2 thoughts on “Dollar Store Lamp Makeover

  1. Okay, those lamps look FAB, Leah! What a fantastic way to dress them up! I agree with you about nixing the beads; the glitter on its own is perfect. I think if you added beads to the mix, it would ruin the effect of elegance that you’ve created. They’re beautiful as they are now. 🙂

    As for more ideas, well, let me think on that. If I come up with anything, I’ll share it with you. 🙂

    1. Thanks Holly! I kind of wish I had a need for more lamps so I could make a couple more and use up a bit more of the glitter. lol I thought up another way to use a small bit of it but I’m not sure if it will work or not. I’ll find out soon though, and if it did work then I’ll post about it soon. =)

Leave a Reply

