Melting Pot

Home: Part 2

I didn’t have my camera out much for this trip. I just did a few snaps from the back seat as we made our way through the mountains. We did stop at Seneca Rock to get out and take pictures, and on the way back we stopped at a rest stop for a bit.  (Second and third pictures, respectively.)

This trip was just what my heart needed. I wish the trip had been longer, but a short trip is certainly far better than no trip at all. I missed the mountains and fresh air so much, and of course I missed my family! I did not really say much about the details of the trip prior to leaving as I don’t know who in the family reads this blog and the trip was meant to be a surprise for my grandma and one of my uncles.

I don’t get to see my family very often. Even those who live here in Pittsburgh, I rarely get to see them. So it was WONDERFUL to get to go to Virginia with my mom, sister and youngest niece to see family that had not been seen in years. I wish we could visit more often. I laughed more on our trip than I have in a long time. And for the first time in a long time I felt like I could really relax and be happy. It was not without some more serious conversations of course – when you have several years worth of things to catch up on there’s bound to be some not-so-happy topics to be discussed. But those were kept to a minimum and much of the visit was filled with happiness and laughter.

I desperately needed a trip like that. The past couple of years have been so full of challenges and hurt… it was so good to have something fun to do and to get away for a little while. I’m trying hard to hold on to the happiness of the trip as it’s already fading and making way for the usual discontent and restlessness that I settle for and accept as the norm for my daily life.

I have to catch up on cleaning. I put it off last night to rest a bit, and I think I’ll put it off again today as I’m still quite tired. It was a short trip but it was packed with activity and a LOT of hours in the car. I’m still a bit tired from it all, perhaps even moreso today than I was yesterday after arriving home.

One thought on “Home: Part 2

  1. WELCOME HOME LEAH! 🙂 I am SO happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself so much! The pictures are awesome – especially Seneca Rock. What an amazing place… :O

    It’s so nice to be able to visit with family, isn’t it? Life gets so hectic and crazy, and sadly, family is always the first to feel the effects of a too-busy life. Life today sure isn’t like it was in the old days, when it moved at a much slower pace, and people were a lot happier… I’m so happy that you were able to spend some time catching up with your family, sweetness. It sounds like you really did need that.

Leave a Reply

