Melting Pot

Austen It Up

My mom, sister, nieces and I had a girl’s day out recently. The girls got to go to Build-A-Bear. Then we went to get some lunch, and then we hit Barnes & Noble, which is of course the happiest store on the planet, if you’re a bookworm like me. =) Oldest niece did some major damage there and got about $100 worth of books. Youngest niece got a couple things too, but she’s only 2 so she’s not book crazy yet. I’m sure she will be soon enough, though, as it seems to run in the family. (Though some of us have more time to read than others, the desire is there.)

And I, of course, did my own bit of $65 damage there as well. Most of that was on crafty books and a magazine. And then there’s the big beauty pictured at the top of this post. A compilation of seven Jane Austen novels. Complete with gilded pages and “built-in” ribbon bookmark. ‘Tis a sight to behold. I adore Jane Austen. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve watched movies based on her novels. It’s been much too long since I have read any of them, though. This book has a couple favorites that I’ve not read in a very long time, as well as a couple I’ve always wanted to read but never did get around to for whatever reason. I shall treasure this book… which, by the way, was only $20.

In keeping with the Jane Austen theme, the magazine I picked up was Jane Austen Knits, the Summer 2012 issue.  I had looked through the previous issue when it was released (which I believe was the first issue ever) and was tempted to get it simply for the Jane Austen aspect… but I looked objectively at the patterns and decided it was not for me. This issue, however… I had to have. It’s got some extraordinarily pretty shawl patterns in it.

And then I got two books on crochet. Not that I needed them. But I like having them. =)

 

I’m quite pleased with all of them. And cannot tell you how much I will enjoy reading the Jane Austen novels. =D I’m sorry but kindles, ipads etc. just do NOT hold the same kind of magic that real books do… there’s something far more special about opening a book, holding it in your hands, turning the pages, SMELLING the pages…. digital readers just can’t duplicate those things. Books – real, honest to goodness books – are far superior.

Not to mention you don’t have to worry about glare on a book’s pages making it difficult or impossible to see… and books do not have batteries that can die while you’re in the middle of reading. Yep. Books vs. digital readers = books will ALWAYS win. ALWAYS.

Leave a Reply

