Melting Pot

Appearances Versus Reality

I love when I have a good excuse to shop.

My beauty blog seems to present me with excuses to shop, from time to time. First of all, of course, I need to have things to review and/or swatch to keep the blog updated with new things. I try to limit this, as I just cannot afford to always be buying cosmetics AND it’s silly to have so much of the stuff. (My stash can get seriously out of control if I am not careful…) But also, readers will sometimes ask questions or give me suggestions that lead to very valid (hahahahaha!!!!!) excuses to go shopping.

Case in point: I bought something today based off a reader’s question as to the best way to remove a gel nail polish manicure as it can be quite difficult. I already know this. I LOVE gel nail polish (the SensatioNail starter kit is probably my favorite beauty related purchase ever, with the subsequent gel nail polish purchases a very close second. I just love the stuff!) but removing it really is a PITA. In the months I’ve been using gel polishes, I’ve been experimenting with different products and methods to try to find the best way to remove the polish. I’ve yet to find a way that’s speedy and not too damaging to the nails. So today I picked up another product that is supposed to be good for removing gels, so we’ll see. I am loving my current (regular polish) manicure though, so I will not be removing it to try this new product just yet. I’m going away for a couple days soon, though, and will want to do a gel manicure before then so I won’t have to worry about my nails on my trip. So, after that trip I’ll try out the product I got today to see if it works as well as I hope.

I’ve also bought a lipstick based on a reader’s recommendation when she said she thought, based on my reviews of other similar lip colors, that I might like it. It’s one of my favorite lipsticks now, and I’d never have known that if the reader had not left a comment suggesting I take a look at it. =)

More recently I got a comment suggesting that a glitter polish I have would probably look great layered over another color. A color which I do not believe I have in my (ridiculous) stash already. I’m going to check to be sure before making any new purchases, but it might be an excellent excuse for me to buy a new nail polish if I don’t already have this color.

Call me vain and materialistic, but I love having these kinds of excuses to shop for girly things.

Of course, some people have made comments (my neighbor. my sister. some friends.) recently that have made me realize that there is an excellent chance people think these things are the only things that matter to me. And I don’t like that. Because that’s really not me. YES, I love makeup and nail polish and hair care products etc. But they’re not the most important thing in the world to me, and if I ever had to make a choice to go without those things for something else, I’d never have any qualms about giving these things up. I don’t like knowing that people think of me as someone who only/cares too much about such ultimately trivial things. I enjoy girly things like makeup and nail polish. I have the time to devote to trying new products and blogging about them to share with others who share my enjoyment of these kinds of products. But at the end of the day, these things are NOT all that I care about. If you were to ask me to write a list of a hundred things in my life that matter most to me, that make me happy… none of these things would be on that list. I DO have my priorities straight. I do good in my life every chance I get. I help people out who need help when I am able to do so. I give of myself, even when I probably shouldn’t and even when it puts me in a bind in some way. I do things that will put a smile on someone’s face, just to see their reaction. And it is not just for the people I know personally… I do things for strangers as well. I’m not even going to get into specifics of the “random acts of kindness” I’ve done, because the specifics do not matter. I don’t do these things to tell people about them, or to be recognized in some way for them. I do them because it feels right.

When I get into bed at night, no matter how badly I may be feeling about my own situations and troubles I want to be able to say “But at least I made that person smile” or “At least I helped that person with such and such”…  No matter how much I may be hurting inside, it’s no excuse to not do good for others. It’s said that what you put out into the world comes back to you. Maybe it does and maybe it doesn’t. But either way, the feeling you get when you help someone out or do something to make someone smile – especially a stranger – cannot be replicated by any other action.

Just because I care about superficial things to a certain degree does not mean I am superficial. Just because I enjoy material things does not mean those are the only things in the world that matter to me. Just because I don’t brag about the things I do for other people doesn’t mean I don’t do them. There is more to me than meets the eye, more to me than the things I choose to blog or speak about. Judge me based on what you read here/on my beauty blog all you want. You will never know the whole story. I may not be pretty, I may not be a great cook, sometimes I speak out when I should shut up and sometimes I stay silent when I should speak up. I make mistakes. I have flaws. Lots of them. I never claim otherwise.  But the fact is, no one knows what is truly in my heart but me and God. And at the end of the day… that’s enough.

Leave a Reply

