Melting Pot

Playing Catch-Up

My ankle is still a little sore, moreso in the evenings. But it is feeling better, and I am able to get up and around now without hobbling around like an old woman. Applying the Tiger Balm has helped more than the pain pills have. That stuff is a miracle in a jar, I swear. Expensive, but so very worth it. If you are clumsy (like me) it is a must have in your medicine chest.

I’ve been trying to play catch-up today since the past couple days I didn’t get much done around the house courtesy of the sprained ankle… I think I’ve done well. Especially given the heat today. I’m glad it will be cooling off a bit in a couple hours. About an hour ago it was 100° in the shade. And the high for the day was supposed to be 96°. HA! I’ve been making sure I drink plenty of water (I already drink like a fish as it is) and I’ve taken frequent breaks in my cleaning so as to avoid heat exhaustion. I got the living room all scrubbed and cleaned, washed a couple days worth of dirty dishes and got the kitchen floor scrubbed too. I still have some more to clean up in the kitchen to get the counters cleaned up, but it’s break time again for the moment. Once it cools down a bit I need to scrub the floor in my bedroom and get the bathroom dealt with as well. I may put off the bathroom till tomorrow morning though as I’m tired and have a headache setting in.

I’m hoping that the Mister can visit tomorrow. I miss him so much. I miss his kisses and his arms around me, his eyes, his smile, his voice, his touch… everything. sigh. I need some quality time with him so badly right now that I just don’t know what to do with myself anymore.

I’ve been working on a knitted hand towel. It’s coming along slowly but surely. I get so bored with knitting. I don’t know why. Once I got bored with that a couple days ago, I grabbed my crochet hooks and ended up starting a shawl. I’m about half way through with it already. I’m not sure it will be the size I want when I am done, I’m just working with the yarn I have and once it’s gone the shawl is done regardless of size. I think once I block it, it will be a fairly decent size. I know it won’t be as big as I’d like it to be but as long as it’s big enough to help me keep the chill at bay during the evenings and in the coming cooler Fall weather, I will be happy with it. Despite the hot, hot days we have been having, many of the evenings have been chilly enough to require a light wrap or sweater. I love those kinds of evenings…

I’m feeling ok today as far as other things are concerned. It’s so back and forth between being ok and being totally crushed. Today has been an ok day. I am hoping more of these days will find their way into my life, so I can really let go and move on. For now though I’ll take whatever moments of feeling ok I can get and I will savor them, and I will try my best to look back only with fondness and not with sorrow or anger or regret… or blame.

My eyes keep finding their way to the piece of artwork that the Mister bought for me on our first date earlier this year. I love it. I wonder if I could knit or crochet up a little something inspired by it… knit would be easier for me for what I’ve just thought of perhaps trying. But, knitting things always takes me SO long. Maybe if I get a great big bulky yarn… hmmm… we’ll see. For now I need to focus on finishing the crocheted shawl. And that blasted hand towel that is taking forever. Eh. I’ll finish the shawl I am sure. The towel, on the other hand… I will finish it eventually of course but maybe not before starting this new project that has popped into my head. My Mister inspires me, what can I say?

Anyway. I suppose I’ve had a long enough break and I ought to go finish up in the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

