Melting Pot

What’s Going On

Oh, so much has happened since I decided to take a break from blogging. Some good, some bad, some inbetween…

I became an aunt again, in a sense. My friend had her baby – a month early. But both she and baby are just fine and baby was even able to go home earlier this week which was absolutely amazing as usually babies born premature & with the problems she had at birth are in the hospital at least a month. She was home after just under 2 weeks. She’s already a fighter, and a very strong (and BEAUTIFUL!) little girl and I love her. And then just a couple days after she was born, I became an aunt again (by blood) when my SIL brought my new handsome little nephew into the world.

Rascal and Jenna are really used to one another now, and play together daily both inside and out in the yard. They’ve been for a couple walks together and that is… interesting.  I must invest in a leash splitter and train them to walk together. They pretty much create their own split leash when walking together anyway, both of them going this way and that and twisting the two leashes together! Rascal does pretty good taking walks on her own now as well, though she does still get a bit ansty as we get far enough away she can’t see the house anymore. When she walks with Jenna, she’s totally fine. I’ve been gradually increasing the distance I take her when it’s just the two of us though and she’s gotten much better about her walks. Both girls have been allowed to play with the neighbor’s dog a couple times too, though not often as he’s much bigger than they are and quite rowdy so he scares them a bit with his playfulness. They’re all getting along quite well though and I’m happy to have the opportunities to socialize Rascal with both other people and other dogs. I wish there were a dog park around here so she could REALLY socialize, but I’ll work with what I’ve got. Speaking of Rascal, the little rascal has now wedged herself between the couch and my back, leaning against me with her belly and resting her chin on my shoulder. lol Crazy puppy!

I’ve been very ill this past week. I had some dental work done on Monday and it’s basically been hell ever since.  It’s not the dental work that is bothering me though. I don’t know what is wrong. I just keep going back and forth between feeling perfectly fine and then feeling horribly ill. It’s really hard to tell at this point if it’s just left over sicky feeling from the pain meds from the dental work (took care of the pain but also made me sick…) or if it’s TTOTM, or both those things wrapped together, or if it’s something entirely different. I’m afraid it’s something else. But, I’m going to give it a few more days and if I am still not feeling better I am going to the doctor. I can’t afford to be sick, in any sense of the word. I have far too much to do, people are counting on me for various things, and I have absolutely no money. But… if I have to rack up a medical bill I spend the rest of my life paying off then so be it. It’s scary to know something is not right, and to not know what’s wrong or how serious it is. I’d already been spending a rather alarming amount of time pondering my mortality lately… so to then get sick like this… *shrug* I’m not afraid of dying, to be honest. It’s missing out on the dreams I have not achieved yet that scares me. I want to get married and have babies and have a family more than anything, maybe sell a few photos or even see a photo or two published somewhere. Being the pessimist that I am, my thoughts right now are pretty much “I finally find a good man who loves me, and I’m going to die before I get to make a life with him. Just my luck.” I’m a rather morbid person at times I guess. But aren’t we all at least occasionally?

Anyway. Something is also wrong with our oven. Yeah, the one that we just got at the end of last year and it’s only about 6 months old. It will not heat up. I tried to bake a cake yesterday to test out a design I’m doing on the previously mentioned friend’s baby shower cake (yeah, she had the baby before her baby shower could happen!) and the oven wouldn’t preheat. I waited and waited and waited… finally I just popped the cake in because I figured SURELY it would be hot enough and bake, even if it took a little longer than it normally would. Well. After TWO HOURS in the oven, and cranking the heat way up… the cake was still totally raw batter. I took the pan out of the oven and it was barely warm. I was able to get it out of the oven without using oven mitts. Dumped it. And then opened up the drawer I was SURE the warranty information for the range was in. And it’s not there. I have looked everywhere for the folder with all that information and can’t find it. I know it’s still under warranty and will be for some time, as we paid for the extended warranty & labor – but we can’t have it serviced without those papers. I just don’t know where they could have wound up. And next weekend is the baby shower. I’ll be borrowing a neighbor’s kitchen to do my baking. Which means a test cake or two is in order this week so I can familiarize myself with her range. Hers is gas while we use electric, so I just want to be sure I find any little quirks or hot spots her oven may have before baking off this massive baby shower cake!

Anyway. I’ve much to do today… or, to TRY to do, depending on how I feel. I’m ok at the moment. But we’ll see how the day unfolds.

One thought on “What’s Going On

  1. Wow. Lots going on, my friend….

    First, watch out with the puppy and her leaning her head on your shoulder. That is a dominance behavior, and if you don’t curb it now, you’re going to pay for it later. Dogs put their heads on other dogs to show that they are the pack leader, so just be aware of what you’re allowing.

    Secondly, is it possible that the oven element is burned out, or maybe improperly connected? Something to consider, but I do hope you find the warranty papers so you can have it serviced.

    Third, I’m sorry to hear you’ve been so sick lately. I am sending you lots of positive energies to help you get better. I hope they help.

    Finally, CONGRATULATIONS on becoming an aunt, both through friendship and by blood! 🙂 I hope you get to enjoy lots of time with both of the new arrivals. 🙂

Leave a Reply

