In The Kitchen, Recipes

Microwave Caramels

I stumbled onto this recipe on Pinterest, and had to try it. Caramels are among the things I’ve tried to make many times but have never been successful with it. Even though Susie Brown makes it look SO easy… I just can’t seem to ever get it right. This recipe for microwave caramels has a lot of 5 star reviews so I figured it was worth trying it out.

Click here to check out the recipe on food.com

The first batch I made didn’t quite turn out so well. The caramel stayed far, far too soft. And I had forgotten to line the pan so they stuck in the pan big time. But they still tasted good enough.

I had to try it again though. The second batch I microwaved for 8 minutes. This time they were just about perfect! I think I’d still prefer them to set up just a bit more. But 8 minutes of cook time was definitely  an improvement. And the second batch I remembered to line the pan with foil and sprayed it with non-stick cooking spray. The foil still stuck to the caramels a bit, but it was a lot better. The caramels stuck to my cutting board while I was cutting them, so perhaps having a second sheet of greased foil on the cutting board would be a good idea for when cutting the caramels. (Or if anyone has a better suggestion, feel free to share it.) Unfortunately for me, I realized all too late that we are out of both waxed and parchment paper, so I had no way to wrap the caramels up once they were cut. So I lined my candy dish with plastic wrap and sprayed it with non-stick spray and then just piled the caramels up in the dish. And now they’re all stuck together in one lovely, sweet lump. lol

(PS – pop them in the fridge to cool faster so you can cut them, or if it’s cold outside you can set them outside. Spraying the knife with non-stick spray helps keep the caramel from sticking to the knife as you cut. I have also heard letting the caramels sit overnight helps make cutting them easier… but I have not tried that so I don’t know if it really helps or not.)

An additional note: Use a large bowl to microwave the caramels in, the mixture is going to bubble up quite a bit and you don’t want it to boil over and make a mess of your microwave! The recipe does not state what size pan to pour the caramel into. For my first batch I used a 9×13 pan and the caramels were far too thin. The second batch I used a 7×11 pan, they were still a bit thinner than I like but it turned out much better with this size pan.

If you try this recipe, I’d suggest starting out by following the recipe as written for the first batch, and after that tweak the cooking time as needed to get the texture you’re looking for with your caramels.

I sprinkled some coarse sea salt over half the caramels (second batch) – I only did half because I am pretty sure I’m the only one here who likes salted caramels. If you choose to sprinkle some salt on yours, do so when the caramel is sill slightly warm so that it sticks, but do not do it when the caramel is still really hot because then the salt will just melt into the caramel. Still tasty, but not nearly as pretty to look at.

2 thoughts on “Microwave Caramels”

  1. Okay, I’ve waited and waited and waited. Where are my caramels? 😀 Seriously, they really do look good – and how cool it is that you found a recipe for them! And to think it only took 8 minutes to make such time-honored, delicious goodies… 🙂

  2. Your photos are so well shot and have such a wonderful sense of whimsy to them that I can only hope mine will look so good.

Leave a Reply

