Blogging For Books

>Book Review

>

Here Burns My Candle by Liz Curtis Higgs
It took me a while to get through this book, though NOT because I did not enjoy it. On the contrary, I absolutely LOVED it! But, I’ve had a lot going on. Seems to be the theme for 2011 for me. Complete and utter chaos at every turn, in one way or another. I could only ever manage to read one or two chapters at a time (and they are short chapters) and rarely did I get a chance to sit down to read four or five chapters as I like to. But I have finally finished this book over the weekend and I am just dying to read the sequel now to find out how the entire story wraps up! (The sequel is titled Mine Is The Night.)
The story is set in Edinburgh, Scotland in the year 1745. It is a story love, betrayal, forgiveness, loss and hope. Very well written with enough detail to provide a vivid image of the scenery and yet well balanced so as to not be too much detail (which in my opinion makes a book boring) and throughout the story, right from the very first page, it is so very easy to really connect to the characters. The story is easy to relate to in many aspects and it’s very touching. It follows the Kerr family as they struggle through many issues in the midst of war. Truly an amazing novel. 
You may read the first chapter here: Chapter 1
The book may be purchased here: Waterbrook Multnomah or here: Barnes & Noble
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
Leave a Reply

